ICC postpones 2021 Women's World Cup Qualifier due to COVID-19

New Update
ICC postpones 2021 Women's World Cup Qualifier due to COVID-19
The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Tuesday (May 12) has announced the postponement of two further qualifying events due to the COVID-19 pandemic -- the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier and the ICC U-19 World Cup Qualifier Europe Division 2.

The decision comes in after ICC’s comprehensive contingency planning process and consultation with Members, and with the relevant government and public health authorities. The World Cup Qualifier was due to take place in Sri Lanka between July 3 and 19, where three teams were to qualify for the 2021 event in New Zealand.

The start of the journey to the ICC U-19 World Cup 2022 was scheduled to begin with the European Regional Qualifier in Denmark between July 24 and 30. The ICC will work with all participating Members to identify when these events will be able to be staged.

ALSO READ: COVID-19 pushes Kwibuka T20 tourney to 2021

“In light of the continuing travel restrictions, global health concerns and government and public health authority advice we have decided to postpone two further upcoming qualifying events due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier and the Europe qualifier to the U19 Cricket World Cup 2022 have both been impacted,” ICC Head of Events, Chris Tetley said in a statement.

“Our priority during this difficult period is to protect the well-being of players, coaches, officials, fans and the whole cricket community and we will take well-informed, responsible decisions in relation to both postponing events and resuming international cricket.

“These are both important events with the Women’s CWC Qualifier one step away from New Zealand 2021 and the Europe qualifier which signifies the start of the U-19 Cricket World Cup 2022 pathway. We will work in partnership with the Members to find an appropriate window to reschedule these events as soon as is safe and practical to do so. I would like to thank the Members for their cooperation and continued support.”