ICC nominates Shabnim Ismail, Marizanne Kapp, Diana Baig for Player of the Month honour

ICC nominates Shabnim Ismail, Marizanne Kapp, Diana Baig for Player of the Month honour

(From L) Diana Baig, Marizanne Kapp, Shabnim Ismail

South Africa pacer Shabnim Ismail, allrounder Marizanne Kapp and Pakistan fast bowler Diana Baig have been nominated for the ICC Women’s Player of the Month award for January 2021, the apex body announced in a statement on Tuesday (February 2).

The ICC has introduced the awards to recognize and celebrate the best performances for the shortlisted based on on-field performances and overall achievements during the period of that month (the first to the last day of each calendar month).

ALSO READ: South Africa Emerging team to tour Bangladesh for limited-overs series   

Baig has been sensational for Pakistan in the ODIs series finishing with nine wickets from three games with the best figures of 4/30 in the final game. However, she didn’t get one till now in the first two T20Is.

On the other hand, Ismail finished the ODI series in third place with seven wickets against Pakistan. She fared even better in the T20Is, the latest being her stunning five-wicket haul in the series-clinching second T20I finishing with figures 5/12.

Her compatriot Kapp, who is the third nominee in the category, played two ODIs and two T20Is against Pakistan where she made 115 runs at a strike rate of 110.57 and added three wickets in the ODI series against Pakistan.

ALSO READ: India set to return to international cricket with a home series against South Africa

The candidates will be voted by the independent ICC Voting Academy and fans around the world. The ICC Voting Academy comprises senior journalists, former players, and broadcasters and some members of the ICC Hall of Fame.

The Voting Academy will submit their votes by email and will retain a 90 per cent share of the vote. Additionally, fans registered with the ICC will be able to vote via the ICC website once the shortlisted players are announced and will have a 10 per cent share of the vote.