ICC announces match officials for T20 World Cup 2020

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
ICC announces match officials for T20 World Cup 2020

Claire Polosak. © ICC

The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the match officials for all the league games of the ICC Women's T20 World Cup 2020 on Wednesday (February 12). Three match referees and 12 umpires are set to officiate for the 23-match tournament.

As many as six women are included in the list. GS Lakshmi is all set to become the first woman to stand as match referee at an ICC event. Lauren Agenbag, Kim Cotton, Claire Polosak, Sue Redfern and Jackqueline Williams are the other female umpires to be named for the showpiece event.

Williams will stand with Shaun George in the high-voltage tournament opener between Australia and India on February 21. Meanwhile, Polosak who become the first woman umpire to officiate in a men's game, will be handling umpiring duties with Nitin Menon for the match between West Indies and Thailand.

"This is the largest compliment of women match officials at a single event, and the progress we have made is heartening," said Adrian Griffith, ICC Senior Manager, Umpires and Referees. "We have endeavoured to provide opportunities to women officials based on merit, and it is because of their skillset and hard work that they have graduated to the top level."

"We appoint the best match officials for an event and are pleased we have the right mix. I wish all match officials at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup the very best and am confident we will have smooth adjudication of the matches."

Match Officials at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020

Match Referees: Steve Bernard, Chris Broad, GS Lakshmi

Umpires: Lauren Agenbag, Gregory Brathwaite, Chris Brown, Kim Cotton, Shaun George, Nitin Menon, Claire Polosak, Ahsan Raza, Sue Redfern, Langton Rusere, Alex Wharf, Jacqueline Williams