ACC T20 Championship: Hong Kong halt Nepal’s juggernaut; Kuwait and Qatar also emerge victorious

Kuwait, Qatar and Hong Kong picked up victories on day five of ACC T20 Championship © Cricket Malaysia Twitter

Hong Kong halted Nepal’s juggernaut to remain unbeaten in the ongoing Asian Cricket Council Women’s T20 Championship 2022 in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia on Tuesday, June 21. On the other hand, Kuwait pipped Bhutan in an intense clash by three wickets and Qatar overpowered Singapore by five wickets to bag their first and second win respectively.

Qatar trump Singapore

Qatar’s skipper Aysha won the toss and asked Singapore to set a score on the board. Her decision bore fruit for the unit as they restricted Singapore to a paltry 46 in 14.3 overs.

Skipper Aysha led from the front and bagged a two-wicket haul while conceding just 12 runs in 3.3 overs. Her bowlers contributed really well and it turned out to be an absolute team effort. Angeline Mare was the pick of all the Qatar bowlers as she picked up a three-wicket haul at an excellent economy rate of three runs per over. 

Chasing 47 runs to win the game, Qatar got off to an awful start as Singapore bowlers didn’t give them any freebies at all. 

Singapore bowlers bowled with a lot of heart and made the run chase extremely difficult for Qatar batters but ultimately not having enough runs on the board cost them the game. Qatar lost five wickets in the chase but eventually got home in the 11th over.

ALSO READ: Hong Kong and Qatar register wins on Day 3 of ACC T20 Championship

Kuwait pip Bhutan

Kuwait were up against a tough opposition in Bhutan but a disciplined effort from both bat and ball saw them bag their first win of the tournament.

Bhutan’s top-three batters provided them with a lot of stability up the order but they perished after getting their eyes in. None of the other batters really contributed as Kuwait bowlers bowled exceedingly well and brought their side back in the hunt.

 It was the fifty-run stand between Ngawang Choden and skipper Dechen Wangmo that helped Bhutan to post 112 runs on the board.

In reply, Kuwait’s run chase relied heavily on opener Maryam Omar as the other batters got out pretty cheaply. Omar (46 runs off 53 balls) kept the scoreboard ticking and took the onus of the run chase on her shoulders. She steered the team to 96 runs and missed out on a well-compiled half-century. Kuwait eventually reached the target on the last delivery of the 19th over.

ALSO READ: Malaysia, Nepal continue their dominance in ACC T20 Championship; UAE, Hong Kong also win big

Hong Kong outclass Nepal

Hong Kong eased past Nepal in what turned out to be a one-sided end to a highly anticipated clash in the last game of the day. Both teams came into the match with undefeated streaks and hence the clash drew a lot of eyeballs.

Opting to bat first, Nepal’s batters couldn’t get the opportunity to muscle the ball at any stage of their innings as the Hong Kong bowlers were already up for the challenge. But useful contributions from the trio of Bindu Rawal (23 runs off 29 balls), Rubina Chhetry (32* runs off 36 balls), and Apsari Begam (22* runs off 16 balls) helped Nepal to achieve 109 runs in their 20 overs.

Chasing the target, the pair of Mariko Hill (45 runs off 32 balls) and Natasha Miles (28* runs off 34 balls) batted with a lot of focus and it turned out to be the difference between the two sides. Hill struck at an impressive strike rate of 140.62 and hit nine boundaries in her innings. Her knock helped Hong Kong to chase the target down in just 15.5 overs and she was awarded the Player of the Match.

Brief Scores:

Singapore 46 all out in 14.3 overs (Angeline Mare 3/12) lost to Qatar 47/5 in 10.3 overs (Saachi Dhadwal 14; Shafina Mahesh 2/21) by five wickets POTM: Angeline Mare

Bhutan 112 all out in 19.3 overs (Ngawang Choden 28; Amna Tariq 2/20) lost to Kuwait 116/7 in 19 overs (Maryam Omar 46; Anju Gurung 2/22) by three wickets POTM: Maryam Omar

Nepal 109/6 in 20 overs (Rubina Chhetry 32*; Betty Chan 2/17) lost to Hong Kong 112/3 in 15.5 overs (Mariko Hill 45; Sangita Rai 2/20) by seven wickets POTM: Mariko Hill