Alex Hartley to lead 18-member Thunder squad for 2021 season

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
Alex Hartley delivers spin masterclass for age group cricketers

Alex Hartley celebrates a wicket for Lancashire Thunder. © Getty Images

Alex Hartley will lead the 18-member Thunder squad for the the upcoming Rachael Heyhoe-Flint Trophy (RHF Trophy) and Regional T20 competition, , Lancashire Cricket announced on Thursday (May 27). Thunder, which represent Lancashire, Cheshire, and Cumbria regions, finished last in the inaugural edition of the 50-over tournament.

Left-arm spinner Hartley led the side in the first edition of RHF Trophy as well and is one of five professional domestic players in the side along with right-handed batter Georgie Boyce, bowling allrounder Hannah Jones, batting allrounder Emma Lamb, and wicket-keeper and right-handed batter Ellie Threlkeld.

England internationals Kate Cross and Sophie Ecclestone will be part of the side in the early matches before they leave for the multi-format home series against India starting from June 16 the team for which is yet to be announced.

ALSO READ: Hollie Armitage to lead 13-member Northern Diamonds squad

Western Australia's Piepa Cleary will also represent the side as an overseas player. The 24-year-old scored 118 runs and took seven wickets during the 2020-21 season of Women's National Cricket League (WNCL). She also represents Perth Scorchers in the Women's Big Bash League (WBBL). She was part of the Lancashire side in the T20 competition this year.

Thunder will face Western Storm in their opening fixture of RHF Trophy in Bristol on May 29.

Thunder Squad: Alex Hartley (c), Ellie Threlkeld, Georgie Boyce, Emma Lamb, Hannah Jones, Kate Cross, Sophie Ecclestone, Piepa Cleary, Nat Brown, Laura Marshall, Alice Dyson, Alice Clarke, Laura Jackson, Rebecca Duckworth, Sophia Turner, Daisy Mullan, Liberty Heap, Danielle Collins