Jhulan Goswami becomes highest wicket-taker in ICC Cricket World Cups

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
Jhulan Goswami becomes highest wicket-taker in ICC Cricket World Cups

Jhulan Goswami © Getty Images

India's veteran fast bowler and the leading wicket-taker in ODI cricket, Jhulan Goswami dismissed Anisa Mohammed to become the most successful bowler in ICC World Cup history as India trounced Stafanie Taylor's West Indies by a massive margin of 155 runs.

The moment of glory came on the second last delivery of the 36th over of the West Indies' innings. Anisa chipped one straight in the air and was caught by the substitute fielder Taniya Bhatia at mid-wicket.

With 40 wickets in the tournament, Goswami went past Australia's Lyn Fullston who held the record since 1988. Interestingly, she has never dismissed the same batter twice and Anisa turned out to be her seventh victim from the West Indies, ICC media release said.

Goswami was a tad expensive as she bowled six overs in the match and gave away 43 runs. She had began her World Cup journey 17 years ago in the 2005 World Cup. Her first World Cup victim was Sri Lanka's Inoka Galagedara.

ALSO READ: Smriti Mandhana, Harmanpreet Kaur and art of batting in partnerships

Fondly known as the Chakdaha Express, Goswami is just one wicket away from bagging 250 ODI scalps. Being the spearhead of the Indian bowling attack she will be expected to deliver in the upcoming games of the tournament.


Meanwhile, the win over the West Indies has taken team India to the top of the points table. The duo of Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana scored scintillating centuries and helped India post a huge score (317/8) on the board. Both the batters bailed India out of crisis and played crucial roles in getting the team's campaign back to the winning ways.

Barring the century partnership for the opening wicket between Deandra Dottin and Hayley Matthews the team from the Caribbean never looked in the game and eventually got bowled out for 162 runs in 40.3 overs. Smriti Mandhana was awarded the player of the match award.

India will face the defending champions England in their next match on March 16.