Freya Davies recalled for ODIs, T20Is against Pakistan; Sarah Glenn earns maiden call-up

Freya Davies appealing for a wicket. ©Getty Images

Freya Davies, the medium pacer, has been recalled to the England squad for the upcoming three ODIs – part of the ICC Women’s Championship – and as many T20Is against Pakistan at a neutral venue in Malaysia, beginning December 9. Sarah Glenn has earned her maiden call-up to the squad, while Maddie Villers has retained her spot.

Davies, who made her debut against Sri Lanka in March this year, was dropped for the subsequent series against West Indies and Australia at home. Her return to the squad comes off a phenomenal performance in the final edition of the Women’s Cricket Super League earlier this year, where she finished at the top of the wickets charts with 19 wickets in Western Storm’s championship-winning run.

Leg-spinner Glenn, also enjoyed a successful run in the WCSL, picking up 11 wickets for Loughborough Lightning at an average a tad over 18, and a tournament economy rate of 6.05. Should she make her debut, Glenn will be the first specialist leg-spinner to don England colours since Kathryn Leng back in 2003.

Villiers, who enjoyed a successful introduction to international cricket in the final T20I of the Ashes series earlier this year, has retained her place in the squad. Despite underwhelming returns in the WCSL, the off-spinner, has been selected ahead of Surrey Stars teammate Laura Marsh, previously the team’s lead spinner.

There are six points up for grabs across the ODI series which count towards qualification for the 2021 ICC Women’s World Cup in New Zealand. England have already qualified for the mega event, are are placed second – behind Australia – on the points table. Furthermore, the T20I series will help the teams prepare in the build up to the 2020 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in Australia.

Knight will continue to lead the side which travels to Malaysia with a combination of four front-line spinners and five medium pacers, including allrounder Natalie Sciver.

“We’re looking forward to getting out there and getting back to international cricket. It’s been a few months since our last game and there’s been a fair bit of change in that time so this tour is an opportunity to start a new era and move forward,” Heather Knight, England captain, said. “There’s a few younger faces in the group but also a lot of proven talent. I’m really happy with the group and we can’t wait for the next few months.”

This will be England’s first series following the retirements of Sarah Taylor and Jenny Gunn, and the resignation of Mark Robinson, marking the start of a new era. Alistair Maiden will be in charge of the team for this tour, with Lisa Keightley set to take over early next year.

The three-match ODI series will be played from December 9 to 14 followed by three T20Is from December 17 to 20, with all the games to be played at Kinrara Oval.

Squad: Heather Knight (c), Tammy Beaumont, Katherine Brunt, Kate Cross, Freya Davies, Sophie Ecclestone, Sarah Glenn, Kirstie Gordon, Amy Jones (wk), Nat Sciver, Anya Shrubsole, Mady Villiers, Fran Wilson, Lauren Winfield, Danni Wyatt.