Four teams for Tasmania's first-grade competition confirmed

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
Heather Graham, Sammy-Jo Johnson star in wins for Western Fury, Queensland Fire

Tasmanian Women. © Cricket Tasmania

Following a review of Tasmania's premier league structure by former Australia leg-spinner Kristen Beams, the first-grade competition has been cut from a 10-team event to one with four teams. The Greater Northern Raiders, who gained direct acceptance, will be joined by Clarence, New Town - the two finalists from 2019 - and North Hobart in the 2020-21 competition.

All the southern-based clubs were given the opportunity to apply for the refurbished league which is set to get underway next month. Both Kingborough and University of Tasmania were unsuccessful in their applications. However, they will be able to participate in the second-grade competition, which will also involve all of Clarence, Glenorchy, Lindisfarne, New Town, North Hobart and South Hobart Sandy Bay.

ALSO READ: Kristen Beams suggests changes to Tasmania's premier league competition

The four clubs that have gained entry into the first-grade competition will have a minimum of three seasons in the competition.

Nathan Magill, premier cricket development manager, was impressed by the applications received and said the clubs should be commended for their commitment to the women's game.

"All five clubs were committed and passionate about supporting women's cricket," Magill was quoted as saying by The Examiner. "They should be commended for what they presented and the effort that they put into their applications."