Four centuries, two five-wicket hauls dominated third day of Senior One-day Trophy

New Update
A case for T20 specialist Anuja Patil to be an all-format player

Anuja Patil (left) in action. ©SLC

Four centuries and a couple of five-wicket hauls headlined the third day of the ongoing Senior One-day Trophy played across various grounds on Thursday (February 20). The day also saw three teams get bundled out below the 100-run mark while chasing.

The first century of the day came from Sushma Verma as her 101 along with Neena Chaudhury’s unbeaten 90 helped Himachal Pradesh post a competitive 208 for the loss of three wickets. In reply, Maharashtra rode on Anuja Patil’s unbeaten 104 to romp home with 2.4 overs to spare at the Indira Stadium in Una.

Elsewhere at JNV School Ground in Una, MD Thirushkamini scored a powerful 101 to help Railways to 248 for the loss of seven wickets against Vidarbha. In reply, India internationals Ekta Bisht (3/2) and Sneh Rana (3/20) ran through the opposition batting line-up to bowl them put for paltry 80 in 38.5 overs.

At Dadoji Konddev Stadium in Thane, Pratigya Singh took a five-fer giving away just 19 runs to bowl Punjab out for a meager 36. Chasing Chhattisgarh’s 171, the Punjab batting fell like a heap of cards with Pransu Priya (4/12) also contributing with the ball alongside Pratigya. For Chhattisgarh, Yashi Pandey scored an unbeaten 57.

The second five-wicket haul came from Gunjan whose six wickets for 31 runs helped Nagaland bundle Arunachal Pradesh out for 146. Antima Teotia (33) and Swati Tyagi (25 not out) then steered Nagaland to victory with almost 10 overs to spare at the YSR Reddy ACA Stadium in Visakhapatnam.

At Lalbhai Contractor Stadium in Surat, Rashmi’s unbeaten 111 powered Jharkhand to an eight-wicket victory against Saurashtra. Chasing 179 for a win, Rashmi single-handedly powered Jharkhand over the line with 3.3 overs to spare.

Brief scores

Group A

Tripura 178/5 in 50 overs (RR Saha 40; SP Aich 3/16) lost to Bengal 181/2 in 44.1 overs (Paramita Roy 83*, Mita Paul 65*; AB Das 1/32) by eight wickets.

Himachal Pradesh 208/3 in 50 overs (Sushma Verma 101; Neena Chaudhary 90 *) lost to Maharashtra 209/6 in 47.2 overs (Anuja Patil 104*, D Anagha 55; Tanuja Kanwer 3/32) by four wickets.

Railways 248/7 in 50 overs (MD Thirushkamini 101; KU Pophali 2/15) beat Vidarbha 80 all out in 38.5 overs (Ekta Bisht 3/2, Sneh Rana 3/20, Swagatika Rath 2/17) by 168 runs.

Group B

Chhattisgarh 171/6 in 50 overs (Yashi Pandey 57*, Shilpa Sahu 42; Sunita Rani 4/35) beat Punjab 36 all out in 17.3 overs (Pratigya Singh 5/19, Pransu Priya 4/12) by 135 runs.

Haryana 107 all out in 30.3 overs (Parmila Kumari 22; M Dakshini 4/31, S Thakor 3/13) lost to Mumbai 108/4 in 28.3 overs (Esha Oza 50) by six wickets.

Tamil Nadu 227/4 in 50 overs (S Anusha 72*, D Hemlatha 49; Madhusmita Behera 3/52) beat Odisha 212/9 in 50 overs (Sushree Dibyadarshini 50, Anjali Singh 41; SB Keerthana 3/46, L Nethra 3/41) by 15 runs.

Group C

Gujarat 137 all out in 29.1 overs (Simran 69; B Amisha 3/18) beat Uttarakhand 103 all out in 45 overs (AN Tomar 48; Krutikaben 3/16) by 34 runs.

Saurashtra 178/9 in 50 overs (Jayu Jadeja 97; Durga Murmu 2/19) lost to Jharkhand 181/2 in 46.3 overs  (Rashmi 111*, Ruma 50) by eight wickets.

Plate Group

Arunachal Pradesh 146 all out 47.5 overs (Megha Sharma 51; Gunjan 6/31) lost to Nagaland 148/6 in 40.1 overs (Antima Teotia 33, Swati Tyagi 25*; Megha Sharma 2/32) by four wickets.

Bihar 157/9 in 50 overs (Yashita Singh 54; Parushi Prabhakar 4/33) beat Chandigarh 81 all out in 35.4 overs (Mehul 19; Tejeshwi 3/14) by 76 runs.

Mizoram 161/9 in 50 overs (Zuali 56; Ronaq Jahan 3/25) lost to Jammu & Kashmir 162/7 in 44.2 overs (Sonika 31, Riya Singh23, Sadiya Wani 23; Sagarika Sengupta 3/18, Hriati 3/35) by three wickets.