Fixtures for 2019 Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier announced

Bangladesh won the T20 World Cup Qualifiers in 2018. ©ICC

The International Cricket Council, on Thursday (August 8), released the fixtures for the Women’s Twenty20 World Cup Qualifier which begins in Scotland on August 31. Defending champions Bangladesh will kick-start their campaign against Papua New Guinea, while Ireland, last time’s runners-up, take on Namibia in their opening game.

It is a league-cum-knockout tournament which will see the top two teams progress to the 2020 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in Australia. The other teams involved in the tournament Scotland, USA, Netherlands and Thailand. All the teams will play on the opening day at the two venues – Forfarshire Cricket Club in Dundee and the Arbroath Cricket Club.

Originally Zimbabwe were scheduled to play in the tournament, but following the ICC suspension handed out to Zimbabwe Cricket in July, they have been replaced by Namibia – runners-up of the Africa Regional Qualifiers earlier this year. All the other teams Netherlands (Europe), Papua New Guinea (East-Asia Pacific), Thailand (Asia) and the USA (Americas) made it by winning their respective qualifying events. Scotland qualified as the hosts.

The eight teams are divided into two groups of four. The top two teams from each group will qualify for the semifinals – the winners of which will ensure themselves of a place at the 2020 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup.

Bangladesh, Thailand, Scotland and the USA form Group A, while Group B consists of Ireland, PNG, Namibia, and the Netherlands.

Both semifinals and the final will be played at the Forfarshire Cricket Club on September 5.

The teams will also play a round of warm-up matches on August 29.

Warm-up Matches (August 29):
Ireland v PNG, Forfarshire Cricket Club
Bangladesh v Netherlands, Arbroath Sports Club
Scotland v Namibia, Forfarshire Cricket Club
Thailand v USA, Arbroath Sports Club

Tournament Matches

Day 1 (August 31):
Bangladesh v PNG, Forfarshire Cricket Club
Thailand v Netherlands, Arbroath Sports Club
Scotland v USA, Forfarshire Cricket Club
Namibia v Ireland, Arbroath Sports Club

Day 2 (September 1):
Thailand v Namibia, Forfarshire Cricket Club
Scotland v PNG, Arbroath Sports Club
Ireland v Netherlands, Forfarshire Cricket Club
USA v BangladeshArbroath Sports Club

Day 3 (September 3):
Ireland v Thailand, Forfarshire Cricket Club
Netherlands v Namibia, Arbroath Sports Club
Scotland v Bangladesh, Forfarshire Cricket Club
PNG v USA, Arbroath Sports Club

Day 4 (September 5):
A1 v B2, Forfarshire Cricket Club
B3 v A4, Arbroath Sports Club
B1 v A2, Forfarshire Cricket Club
A3 v B4, Arbroath Sports Club

Day 5 (September 7):
3rd v 4th Place Play-Off, Forfarshire Cricket Club
5th v 6th Place Play-Off, Arbroath Sports Club
7th v 8th Place Play-Off, Arbroath Sports Club
Final, Forfarshire Cricket Club