England to tour West Indies for three ODIs and five T20Is from December 4

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
SWOT Analysis: Can England fend off Ashes blues?

England in action during the warm-up match © Getty Images

Cricket West Indies (CWI) has announced the schedule for England women's tour of the Caribbean Island in December. The ODIs will be played from December 4 to 9 at the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Ground in Antigua. The tour will also consist of five T20Is which will be played from December 11 to December 22.

The three ODIs will be part of the ICC Women’s Championship for the 2022-2025 cycle. England are yet to win a match in the championship having gone down 3-0 against India at home. West Indies, on the other hand, have two points from three matches after losing the home series against New Zealand 2-1.

Post the ODIs, the teams will also battle in five T20Is which will help the sides prepare for the upcoming T20 World Cup that’s scheduled to be played in South Africa in February 2023. First T20I will be played at the same ground after ODIs, while other four matches of the series will be played at the Kensington Oval in Barbados.

England are currently without a head coach after Lisa Keightley decided to move on from the position at the end of the India series.  Jonathan Finch, director of England women’s cricket, said that the new coach will be on board before the tour and England will be looking to have some wins on board in the ICC Women’s Championship. They would also like to use the tour as preparation for the T20 World Cup 2023.

ALSO READ: England and their quest to be the best could do with some adventure

“It’s always a great place to visit and with a new Head Coach soon to come on board it’s the beginning of a new cycle for this team,” Finch said.

“The West Indies series sees our first overseas round of the ICC Women’s Championship and it’s key we get some points on the board. The tour also plays an important role in preparing for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup early next year.”

December 4 - 1st ODI

December 6 - 2nd ODI

December 9 - 3rd ODI

December 11 - 1st T20I

December 14 - 2nd T20I

December 17 - 3rd T20I

December 18 - 4th T20I

December 22 - 5th T20I