England set to host South Africa, India during home summer of 2022

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
England set to host South Africa, India during home summer of 2022

England-India © Getty Images

England are all set to host South Africa and India in the summer of 2022. The England Cricket Board (ECB) on Tuesday (February 15) announced the schedule for the cricketing summer. The two visiting teams will play their matches on either side of the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham.

South Africa will be the first to arrive in England in June and July. They will compete in a multi-format series, which will include a Test match, three ODIs and three T20Is. This also marks the return of the South African team into the Test arena, having last played a Test in 2014 against India. 

Once the Commonwealth Games and the second edition of The Hundred is played, India will play England in three T20Is and three ODIs. This will be the second time in two summers that the Indian team will be flying to England, having previously played a multi-format series in 2021. However, this time around there hasn’t been any Test match announced. The summer will conclude with the final ODI at Lord's on September 24.


“We are thrilled to be able to announce a compelling summer of international women’s cricket against two of the best teams in the world, in what is a bumper year for the women’s game. In particular, we are excited to be taking England Women back to Lord’s and up to the Riverside Ground as we continue to take the game to as many fans as possible,” Clare Connor, the Managing Director of Women’s Cricket in ECB said. 

The Test match between England and South Africa will be played at the County Ground in Taunton. After this game, the two teams will travel to various parts of the country, for the ODIs and T20Is. India’s series will start at the Riverside Ground in Durham, which is relevant, given the fact that the ground is a Test-playing venue. 

England Women’s Home Fixtures 2022-

England vs South Africa- 

June 27-30 - Only Test - Taunton

July 11 - 1st ODI (D/N) - Northampton

July 15 - 2nd ODI (D/N) - Bristol

July 18 - 3rd ODI (D/N) - Leicester

July 21 - 1st T20I (D/N) - Chelmsford

July 23 - 2nd T20I - Worcester

July 25 - 3rd T20I (D/N) - Derby


England vs India -

September 10 - 1st T20I (D/N) - Durham

September 13 - 2nd T20I (D/N) - Derby

September 15 - 3rd T20I (D/N) - Bristol

September 18 - 1st ODI - Hove

September 21 - 2nd ODI (D/N) - Canterbury

September 24 - 3rd ODI - Lord's