England announce squad for the start of international summer

Jamie Ramage
New Update
England announce squad for the start of international summer

Twitteratis praise Sarah Taylor's quick gloves work. ©WICB

England named their squad for the first two ODI internationals against South Africa. The series starts at Blackfinch New Road Worcester on Saturday.

Fran Wilson and Alex Hartley are the most noticeable absentees from the squad. Both only 11 months earlier played pivotal roles for England in winning the ICC World Cup.

The rise of Sophie Ecclestone, Hartley's Lancashire teammate is one of the factors in why Hartley didn't make the cut. Both being left-arm spinners their appears to be room for only one in the side. Ecclestone has been impressive since playing in the Ashes last year, although Hartley is a consistent performer and has taken vital wickets for England.

Amy Jones who was the wicketkeeper on the India tour keeps her place in the squad. Recalled is Sarah Taylor after taking a break having had a busy schedule. Jones had a decent County Championship season with Warwickshire averaging just under 40.

Also returning alongside Taylor are Katherine Brunt and Lauren Winfield. Brunt picked up an injury during the WBBL and was rested from the India tour. Winfield, the Yorkshire opener is also recalled having gone through a spell of poor form. Winfield has worked hard to regain the form of a couple of years ago, and with Yorkshire, she has done that.

With 14 players selected it remains to be seen who will line-up for the first ODI on Saturday. If Winfield was to make her way back into the side, either of Tammy Beaumont or Danni Wyatt would have to move down the order.

With the squad only confirmed for the first two ODIs means that some players who missed out have the opportunity to work their way back into the squad. With these games count towards the ICC Women's Championship, changes are unlikely.

England Squad:

Heather Knight (c), Tammy Beaumont, Katherine Brunt, Sophie Ecclestone, Georgia Elwiss, Jenny Gunn, Danielle Hazell, Amy Jones, Laura Marsh, Anya Shrubsole, Nat Sciver, Sarah Taylor, Lauren Winfield, Danni Wyatt.