Eight Malaysian women cricketers to feature in MCA T20 Super Series   

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
Eight Malaysian women cricketers to feature in MCA T20 Super Series   

Malaysia women's team. © New Straits Times

The decision to include women players in the men’s tournament comes in after the Malaysian Super Women League was cancelled earlier in the year. According to the rules, the playing XI has to have one female cricketer.

ALSO READ: Women’s T20 Challenge likely to be played in Sharjah

While Mas Elysa and Nik Atiela will play for defending champions Southern Hitters, national team skipper Winnifred Duraisingam and Aiysa Eleesa will don the Northern Strikers jersey. Central Smashers will have Wan Julia and Ainna Hamizah as their female representatives. The Western Warriors will have women’s team opener Yusrina Yakoop and Intan Jamahidayu in their ranks.

However, despite the cancellation, of the Super Women League, Yusrina is looking at the MCA T20 Super Series as a chance to develop her skills. “Playing with the boys in the same team will enable me to be more aggressive with my game, gain confidence and improve my skills, so I am looking forward to this T20 series,” she was quoted as saying to the Emerging Cricket. Every team will play the other three teams twice in the league stages before the knockouts. The final is on October 20.