Sydney Sixers ©WBBL

Cricket Australia today confirmed that Drummoyne Oval, Sydney will host the Semi-Finals of the WBBL|04 on Saturday 19 December, following the Sydney Thunder’s victory over the Melbourne Renegades on Tuesday afternoon at Spotless Stadium.

While the Sydney Thunder and Sydney Sixers still need to battle it out for the top position before the regular season concludes next Monday, the result on Tuesday afternoon ensured that no other teams can secure the minor premiership.

The race for the final two positions in the top four will be hotly contested, as the Brisbane Heat, Perth Scorchers, Melbourne Renegades, Adelaide Strikers and Melbourne Stars all remain in contention to play finals.

This is the first time that both WBBL Semi-Finals will be standalone matches, with both fixtures taking place on same day at the one location. The top ranked team out of the two victorious sides from the day’s play, will host the WBBL|04 final the following weekend on Australia Day, Saturday 26 January.

Leave a Reply