Priya Punia and Deepti Sharma dazzle as Delhi and Bengal register victories in Senior T20 League

New Update
Priya Punia and Deepti Sharma dazzle as Delhi and Bengal register victories in Senior T20 League

Priya Punia (L) and Deepti Sharma (R) © Getty Images

Day four of the ongoing Senior T20 League 2022 had plenty of action as Deepti Sharma, Priya Punia, and Kiran Prabhu Navgire powered their respective sides to comfortable wins.

Pondicherry vs Nagaland

Nagaland picked up a hat-trick of wins as they defeated Pondicherry by seven wickets. P N Khemnar bowled exceedingly well for Nagaland as she picked up a four-wicket haul and helped her side to restrict Pondicherry to 108 in their 20 overs. Kiran Prabhu Navgire played yet another sensational knock as she scored 91 runs and remained unbeaten, taking her team to victory in 17.5 overs.

Saurashtra vs Bengal

Saurashtra's decision to bat first didn't quite work in their favour as Bengal's S P Aich picked up a three-fer to limit them to 77/8 in their 20 overs. In reply, Bengal cruised to the target in 14.2 overs on the back of an unbeaten half-century by Deepti Sharma. She scored 50 runs off 45 balls, including seven fours.

Assam vs Punjab

Batting first, Assam scored 112/3 in their 20 overs but it was never going to be enough against Punjab's strong batting order. Assam's wicket-keeper batter Uma Chetry scored an unbeaten 63 to help them to get to 112. In response, Punjab reached the target in 16.2 overs to pick up their first win of the tournament.

ALSO READ: Shafali and Jemimah shine as Haryana and Mumbai emerge victorious in Senior T20 League

Jammu & Kashmir vs Manipur

Riding on the power packed performance of Rubia Syed (94* runs off 52 balls) Jammu & Kashmir vanquished Manipur by 110 runs. Syed's knock included five sixes and 11 fours and powered the side to a comfortable win. Sandhya's excellent bowling spell helped Jammu & Kashmir to restrict Manipur to a mere 39 runs in 20 overs. She picked up a fantastic four-wicket haul and conceded only three runs in her four-over spell.

Kerala vs Maharashtra

Maya Sonawane's magnificent spell of 4/12 helped Maharashtra to trump Kerala in a low scoring thriller. Sonawane's scorching spell enabled Maharashtra to limit Kerala to 90 in 20 overs and Maharashtra chased down the total in 18 overs with the loss of eight wickets.

Jharkhand vs Tripura

The duo of Nidhi B and Arti picked up two-wicket hauls each to help Jharkhand pick up their second win of the tournament. Chasing a total of 110 to win, opener Mamtha Kanojia scored an unbeaten 38* to steer Jharkhand to victory by six wickets in 19.1 overs.

Uttarakhand vs Goa

Although Uttarakhand won the toss and elected to bat first, Rupali Sukhadev Chavan's brilliant bowling spell of 3/20 didn't allow them to get beyond 85 in their 20 overs. In pursuit of the target, Goa only lost two wickets and got there in 18.2 overs.

Chandigarh vs Delhi

Delhi's decision to field first after winning the toss worked in their favour as they stopped Chandigarh to 134 in 20 overs. Delhi's opener Priya Punia made the chase easier for her side as she scored an unbeaten 74* off 62 balls, including ten fours and propelled her team to an eight-wicket victory.

ALSO READ: Andhra, Jharkhand, Delhi register wins; Nagaland make it three-in-three in Senior T20

Chhattisgarh vs Tamil Nadu 

In yet another low scoring affair on the day, Tamil Nadu outlasted Chhattisgarh by five runs. Batting first, Tamil Nadu only managed to reach 105 in their 20 overs and needed an exceptional bowling effort to defend their total. That exceptional bowling effort came from Eloksi Arun as she picked up a terrific three-wicket haul (3/18)  and powered her team to a five-run victory.

Madhya Pradesh vs Himachal Pradesh

Skipper Pooja Vastrakar's astounding allround effort helped Madhya Pradesh outshine Himachal Pradesh by 29 runs at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium. Vastrakar guided her side to 133 runs in 20 overs as she scored a 45-run knock, including five fours and then picked up Himachal's opener Harleen Deol to give them an early setback. Himachal's skipper Sushma Verma (57* off 56 balls) tried really hard but couldn't take her team to victory.

Gujarat vs Uttar Pradesh

Gujarat's decision to bat first didn't turn out to be fruitful for them as they lost their fixture against Uttar Pradesh by seven wickets. Batting first, Gujarat scored 134 in their 20 overs predominantly due to their opener Sarvi's run-a-ball 68. But it didn't prove to be enough as UP reached the target in 18.5 overs as skipper Muskan Malik scored an unbeaten 47* off 36 balls.

Andhra vs Hyderabad

Neeragattu Anusha's unbeaten 61* off 54 balls took Andhra to a comfortable 26-run win against Hyderabad at the Siechem Stadium in Puducherry. Andhra's total of 130 runs proved to be too much for Hyderabad as they could only score 104 for the loss of seven wickets in their 20 overs. Saranya Gadwal's three-wicket haul helped her emerge as the pick of the Andhra bowlers.

Brief Scores

Pondicherry 108/9 in 20 overs (Yuvashri 35; P N Khemnar 4/30) lost to Nagaland 111/3 in  17.5 overs (Kiran Prabhu Navgire 91*; Rozario 1/18) by seven wickets

Saurashtra 77/8 in 20 overs (T Dharani 23; S P Aich 3/6) lost to Bengal 79/0 in 14.2 overs (Deepti Sharma 50*) by ten wickets

Assam 112/3 in 20 overs (Uma Chetry 63*; Neelam Bisht 1/16) lost to Punjab 113/4 in 16.2 overs (Pragati Singh 32*; Devashree Konwar 1/20) by six wickets

Jammu & Kashmir 149/3 in 20 overs (Rubia Syed 94*; Chingkhei M 2/12) beat Manipur 39/9 in 20 overs (Milan Y 22; Sandhya 4/3) by 110 runs

Kerala 90 all out in 20 overs (Sajana S 30; Maya Sonawane 4/12) lost to Maharashtra 91/8 in 18 overs (S S Shinde 24; Mrudhula V S 3/21) by two wickets

Tripura 109/7 in 20 overs (M R Dey 29*; Nidhi B 2/11) lost to Jharkhand 111/4 in 19.1 overs (Mamtha Kanojia 38*; M K  Rabidas 2/16) by six wickets

Uttarakhand 85/8 in 20 overs (Reena Jindal 24; Rupali Sukhadev Chavan 3/20) lost to Goa 87/2 in 18.2 overs (Purvaja P Verlekar 31; Prema 2/13) by eight wickets

Chandigarh 134/1 in 20 overs (Monica Pandey 58*; Parunika Sisodia 1/22) lost to Delhi 135/2 in 19.3 overs (Priya Punia 74*; Amanjot Kaur 1/24) by eight wickets

Tamil Nadu 105/6 in 20 overs (Arshi Choudhary 33; Shraddha Vaishnava 1/16) beat Chhattisgarh 100/5 in 20 overs (Shilpa Sahu 45; Eloksi Arun 3/18) by five runs

Madhya Pradesh 133/8 in 20 overs (Pooja Vastrakar 45; N M Chauhan 3/22) beat Himachal Pradesh 104/6 in 20 overs (Sushma Verma 57*; Priti Yadav 2/14) by 29 runs

Gujarat 134/3 in 20 overs (Sarvi 68; Anjali Singh 1/23) lost to Uttar Pradesh 136/3 in 18.5 overs (Muskan Malik 47*; Hani Patel 1/25) by seven wickets

Andhra 130/5 in 20 overs (N Anusha 61*; G Trisha 2/21) beat Hyderabad 104/7 in 20 overs (G Trisha 56*; Saranya Gadwal 3/13) by 26 runs