Day 9: Senior India Women’s One Day League

New Update
Deepti Sharma, TP Kanwer power India Red to victory

Deepti Sharma in action. ©ICC

Elite Group A & B

Railways vs Saurashtra

Punam Raut’s 136*, which included 15 fours, after Railways opted to bat first helped them beat Saurashtra and keep their unbeaten streak in the competition alive.

Raut’s 160-ball knock as an opener, and a superlative show by the spin trio of Sneh Rana, Rajeshwari Gayakwad and Poonam Yadav completed the formalities for Railways’s sixth consecutive win as they strengthend their position at the top of the table.

Railways 251/5 (Punam Raut 136*, Shweta 45; RB Dabhi 2-42, Reena M 2-50) beat Saurashtra 88 (PS Nimavat 26; Sneh Rana 5-10, Rajeshwari Gayakwad 3-12, Poonam Yadav 2-19) by 163 runs.

Maharashtra vs Vidarbha

Vidarbha's disciplined bowling helped them dismiss Maharashtra for 154 in 48.2 overs, and then completed a tense chase with a ball to spare. It pushed Maharashtra to eighth position on the points table.

HP Bokde, DD Kasat and BS Fulmali held Vidarbha’s chase together with 93 runs between them, but Anuja Patil triggered a collapse. NT Kohale’s unbeaten 21 from No.8 and her unbroken eighth-wicket stand of 30 runs with Reena Paul completed the job.

Maharashtra 154 (Anuja Patil 28, SS Shinde 26; KR Zanzad 2-13, DD Kasat 2-29, Kanchan Nagwani 2-14, Reena Paul 2-17) lost to Vidarbha 155/7 (DD Kasat 38, BS Fulmali 34; A Patil 4-25) by three wickets.

Chhattisgarh vs Punjab

Parveen Khan’s 71* and Neelam Bisht’s allround effort shone in Punjab’s big win over Chhattisgarh. After Taniya Bhatia opted to bat, Punjab became 129 for 6 in 37.3 overs before Parveen and Bisht put an unbroken stand of 77 runs.

Chasing 207, Chhattisgarh had little answer except for Deepika Tiwari’s 59. Of the seven bowlers used by Punjab, five picked up a wicket at least.

Punjab 206/6 (Ridhima Aggarwal 30, Parveen Khan 71*, Taniya Bhatia 25, Neelam Bisht 26*; Adila Khanam 2-34, Shraddha Vaishnava 2-32) beat Chhattisgarh 160 (Shivi Pandey 36, Deepika Tiwari 59; BN Meena 2-20, N Bisht 3-21) by 46 runs.

Bengal vs Kerala

Deepti Sharma joined Raut to become the second batter with two centuries in the tournament, as Bengal beat Kerala.

Like Raut, Deepti too remained unbeaten as an opener, hitting six fours in her 130-ball graft. She had handy partnerships with Dipali Shaw, Tanusree Sarkar and Neha Majhi, and then picked up four wickets with her offspin.

Jhulan Goswami, the captain, and Shubhlakshmi Sharma supported her well with five wickets between them.

Bengal 224/4 in 50 overs (Deepti Sharma 102*, Dipali Shaw 36, Tanusree Sarkar 27; Sajana S 2-35) beat Kerala (Asha S 88; Jhulan Goswami 2-18, Shubhlakshmi Sharma 3-23, Deept 4-12) by 74 runs.

Mumbai vs Tamil Nadu

D Hemalatha, SB Keerthana, N Nirajana and Nethra L got starts but none could carry on for Tamil Nadu, as P Naik and H Kazi picked up three wickets each for Mumbai

Jemimah Rodrigues fell for 11 in Mumbai's chase, but Vrushali Bhagat’s 90-ball knock, which included six fours, enabled them to get past the target with 46 balls to spare.

Tamil Nadu 151 in 49.1 overs (D Hemalata 26, SB Keerthana 34, Nethra L 44; P Naik 3-20, H Kazi 3-12) lost to Mumbai 152/5 (Mugdha Joshi 31, Vrushali Bhagat 41*, Sheryl R 30; S Anusha 3-20) by five wickets.

Karnataka vs Tripura

S Shubha’s 60 and handy contributions from three other batters was instrumental in Karnataka’s win over Tripura.

Choosing to bat first at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Karnataka started with an opening stand of 54 between Shubha and VR Vanitha. Then, Shubha put on 70 for the second wicket with G Divya. Wickets fell regularly after that, but Karnataka had the platform to cross the 215-run mark. Tripura’s chase lacked intent.

Karnataka 219/7 (S Shubha 60, VR Vanitha 35, G Divya 34, C Pratyusha 28; PA Acharjee 3-36) beat Tripura 162/5 (Indra Rani Jamatia 32, RR Saha 51*) by 57 runs.

PosTeamMatWonLostDrawnTiedN/RNet RRPts
15Tamil Nadu624000-0.6528


Elite Group C

Jharkhand vs Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh made up for their poor batting show with a sturdy bowling performance against Jharkhand.

Ekta Singh’s 84 was the only notable contribution in Uttar Pradesh’s batting, with seven batters falling for single-digit scores as they failed to utilise 13 balls. They then reduced Jharkhand to 65 for 6 in 28.4 overs in a chase of 170. The Rashmi-Indrani Roy stand of 56 it only delayed the inevitable.

Uttar Pradesh 169 (Muskan Malik 26, Ekta Singh 84, Neetu Gaur 29; Ashwani 2-20, Niharika 2-38, Kavita 3-29) beat Jharkhand 155 (Rashmi 50, Indrani Roy 41; Aditi 2-35) by 14 runs.

Himachal Pradesh vs Madhya Pradesh

Like Railways, Himachal Pradesh extended their unbeaten streak to six games on the back of an excellent bowling performance.

Defending 129 after being dismissed in 48.5 overs, Himachal relied on Renuka Singh, Tanuja Kanwer, Sushmita Kumari, Harleen Deol and Nikita Chauhan to wrap up Madhya Pradesh for 89 in 44.1 overs.

Himachal Pradesh 129 (SM Singh 25; Varsha Choudhary 2-21, Salonee Dangore 2-30, Nidhi Buley 3-25) beat Madhya Pradesh 89 (Nikita Chauhan 2-5) by 40 runs.

Odisha vs Team Rajasthan

Priyanka Priyadarshini’s four-wicket haul enabled Odisha to dismiss Rajasthan for 107 in 47.2 overs, but then they themselves collapsed to 63 for 6 as SL Meena, the visiting captain, had a field day. Sarita Meher’s unbeaten 46 and a stand of 44 with Priyanka took Odisha close to victory, which was achieved with 22 balls to spare.

Team Rajasthan 107 (SL Meena 51*; Priyanka Priyadarshini 4-24, Sushree Dibyashree 2-27) lost to Odisha 108/7 (Sarita Meher 46*; SL Meena 4-21, KP Dangi 2-16) by three wickets.

PosTeamMatWonLostDrawnTiedN/RNet RRPts
2Madhya Pradesh743000+0.66016
4Uttar Pradesh642000+0.40916
8Team Rajasthan606000-1.2460
9J & K505000-1.9320


Plate Group

Cricket Association of Mizoram vs Team Uttarkhand

Mamta Kothiyal (112) and Kanchan Parihar (102) put on an opening stand of 232 to propel Uttarkhand to 355 for 8. They hit a combined 21 fours across 210 balls.

After that Sandhya Kumari, the Mizoram captain who opened the innings, carried her bat through with an unbeaten innings, but all the other ten batters fell for single-digit scores. Mizoram were dismissed in 46 overs. There were six ducks in the innings.

Team Uttarakhand 355/8 (Mamta Kothiyal 112, Kanchan Parihar 102, Madhwal 26; Iram Khan 3-54) beat Cricket Association of Mizoram 114 (Sandhya Kumari 79*; Nisha Mishra 2-15, Jyoti Giri 4-11) by 241 runs.

Arunachal Pradesh vs Nagaland

Nagaland dominated over Arunachal Pradesh in an one-sided affair at the Ravenshaw University Ground 2.

Put into bat, Arunchal played their full quota of 50 overs, but could post only 110 with 30 extras being the highest score. Nagaland broke little sweat in reaching the target in 18.5 overs.

Arunachal Pradesh 110/8 (Neelam Rajput 29; Merensola 2-14, J Rameshwari 2-15, Kashish 3-22) lost to Nagaland 111/2 (Kashish 32, Karuna Jain 39*)

Cricket Association of Pondicherry vs Sikkim

Promoted to open the innings, Ananya Upendran made 92, but there were hardly any partnerships after the first-wicket stand of 105 with Sunit Rai was broken in the 25th over.

Sikkim added only 93 runs in the last 25 overs, and it proved costly as Uttarkhand rallied around Anagha Deshpande’s unbeaten 114 after being 12 for 3 to complete the chase with 10.5 overs to spare.

Sikkim 198/6 (Ananya Upendran 92, Sunita Rai 37) lost to Cricket Association of Pondicherry 199/4 (Astalakshmi A 30, Anagha Deshpande 114*, Gouher Sultana 37*) by six wickets.

PosTeamMatWonLostDrawnTiedN/RNet RRPts
2Cricket Association Of Pondicherry651000+1.62420
3Team Uttarakhand651000+1.37320
8Arunachal Pradesh615000-2.8374
9Cricket Association Of Mizoram615000-3.1754