Danielle Hazell to coach Leeds-based The Hundred team

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
Danielle Hazell joins Adelaide Strikers for WBBL 04

Danielle Hazell is in action. ©BCCI

Danielle Hazell, the former England off-spinner, has been appointed as head coach of the Leeds-based team for The Hundred.

Hazell, who represented Durham and Yorkshire in county cricket, enjoyed a hugely successful career playing for England taking 146 wickets at the international level. The off-spinner was a member of England’s 2009 Women’s T20 World Cup winning team and also their more recent successful 2017 ICC Women’s World Cup campaign at home. 

She is currently coaching Yorskhire Diamonds in the Women’s Cricket Super League, having announced her retirement following England’s second-place finish in the Women’s World T20 in the Caribbean last year.

“Things have happened pretty quickly in my coaching career but you have to take the bull by the horns and enjoy the opportunities that come your way and make the most of them,” said Hazell, shortly after the announcement.

“It’s exciting to be involved in a massive step forward for women’s domestic cricket. This can push the game forward. After spending my career travelling around the world it is great to be back in the north and putting something back into the region and the game.”

Darren Lehmann will coach the Leeds-based men’s team for the same competition.

“We were unanimous from the start, both Tim Bostock and myself, having discussed things with Martyn Moxon and Marcus North, about the two head coaches,” said Mark Arthur, Yorkshire chief executive. “Firstly, with Dani we’ve seen very early signs about the qualities that she will bring to The Hundred from the work that she has been doing with the Yorkshire Diamonds. That comes on the back of a great international career, being a local girl and having represented Yorkshire; she was the ideal candidate. She will bring great enthusiasm and knowledge of the game to The Hundred.”

The Hundred is a new format introduced by the England and Wales Cricket Board which is set to begin in July next year. The men’s and women’s tournaments will run concurrently for a five-week period. The competition will consist of eight city-based teams from Manchester, Leeds, Nottingham, Birmingham, Cardiff, Southampton and two in London (Lord’s and the Oval).