South Africa celebrating a wicket. ©CSA

Cricket South Africa (CSA) announced Proteas National Women’s squad players to be awarded national contracts for the 2019/20 year. Out of 30 contracted players, 14 are women. The Proteas women team’s upcoming commitment is the ICC Women’s World T20 Cup to be played in Australia in early 2020. There also important International Women’s Championship series against Pakistan (home) and India and New Zealand (both away).

“We have contracted 16 men’s players and 14 women’s players which we feel is the appropriate number to maintain our national squads across the various formats,” commented CSA Chief Executive, Thabang Moroe.

Proteas women’s players, who have been contracted: Trisha Chetty, Mignon du Preez, Shabnim Ismail, Marizanne Kapp, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Lizelle Lee, Sune Luus, Zintle Mali, Raisibe Ntozakhe, Tumi Sekhukhune, Chloe Tryon, Dane van Niekerk , Laura Wolvaardt

Leave a Reply