CSA to hold Women’s Super League player draft virtually

New Update
CSA to hold Women’s Super League player draft virtually

South Africa players discuss a point. © ICC

The third edition of the Women’s Super League (WSL) player draft will be held virtually on Thursday (December 3), Cricket South Africa announced in a statement. Coaches of the respective teams will announce their draft picks online live on the CSA Youtube page. The tournament will be held in Cape Town from December 14 to 16.

There will be 13 rounds in the drafting process with each team picking up one player per round. The initial pick order for the first two rounds is determined by the teams’ positions in the previous season which means Coronations will have the chance to pick first owing to their first-place finish last year.

ALSO READ: Women’s Super League set to start on December 14; CSA to hold player draft on December 3

Duchesses, who were last season’s runner’s up, will pick second followed by Starlights and Thistles. After South Africa’s England tour got cancelled, this is the first time any premier action is happening in the country post-COVID-19 pandemic.

Although few of the international stars travelled to the UAE and Australia for WT20C and WBBL respectively, the rest and the domestic players didn’t have anything other than only training. The draft will see the blend of U-19, and top-performing provincial cricket players from all over South Africa coming together.

ALSO READ: Namibia gear up for limited-overs Zimbabwe series ahead of busy 2021

“The WSL 3.0. draft is a perfect opportunity for players who have performed admirably in the last cricket calendar year to be rewarded for their hard work and dreams are realized with their selections in the draft,” CSA Acting CEO Kugandrie Govender said.

“Safeguarding the health and well-being of our players, employees, and everyone connected to our game as well as the general cricket community is paramount. With that in mind, we will work diligently with our production team, to create a memorable but virtual event that appropriately honours these accomplished female cricketers,” she added.

Teams will play six matches each and the team that finishes on top after the round-robin will be declared as the winner.