CSA launches second edition of Women’s Super League

Women’s cricket received a significant boost when Cricket South Africa (CSA) launched the second edition of the Women’s Super League in Cape Town on Friday evening.

The League will be a strength versus strength domestic competition, designed to raise the standard of South African domestic cricket and give provincial players the chance to measure their skills against the established Proteas, most of whom will be taking part.

The competition will be played in the T20 format with all matches being centralised at the iconic Newlands ground with two matches each being played on Saturday, Sunday and Monday. The winners will be the team to come out on top after a full round of league play.

“With virtually all our Proteas in the field apart from a couple of unfortunately injured players we have a wonderful opportunity to measure emerging talent from within our domestic ranks against our established stars and this will achieve our dual objective of making sure that we are represented by the very best players at our disposal at the Women’s T20 World Cup and that our domestic game achieves growth and strength,” commented CSA Chief Commercial Officer Kugandrie Govender.

“Women in cricket was the theme of our integrated report this year and this forms part of our drive to achieve gender equality in our cricket in all aspects.”

The team lists (as chosen by the national selectors in consultation with the coaches) are as follows:

THISTLES: Alyssa Erxleben, Ayabonga Khaka, Carmel Nagel, Dheyanka Naidoo, Gandhi Jafta, Khayakazi Mathe, Leah Jones, Nadine de Klerk, Robyn Searle, Tazmin Brits, Trisha Chetty, Yolani Fourie. Head coach: Francois van der Merwe, Assistant coach: Dumile Skade.

STARLIGHTS: Anneke Bosch, Annemarie Dercksen, Chloe Tryon, Jade de Fiquerido, Laura Wolvaardt, Masabata Klaas, Nicolene Janse van Rensburg, Nobulumko Baneti, Nondumiso Shangase, Palesa Mapoo, Saarah Smith, Tatum le Roux, Tebogo Macheke. Head coach: Claire Terblanche, Assistant coach: Desigan Reddy.

DUCHESSES: Christine Tomlinson, Delmi Tucker, Izabella Hester Cilliers, Kgomotso Rapoo, Lara Goodall, Lizelle Lee, Micaela Andrews, Nadia Mbokotwana, Nicole de Klerk, Nkululeko Thabaethe, Sune Luus, Zintle Mali. Head coach: Martelize van der Merwe, Assistant coach: Finley Brooker.

CORONATIONS: Andrie Steyn, Anri Grobbelaar, Courteny Gounden, Dane van Niekerk, Eliz-Mari Marx, Faye Tunnicliffe, Jane Winster, Mignon du Preez, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Shabnim Ismail, Tshegofatso Rampai, Tumi Sekhukhune, Zintle Kula. Head coach: Dinesha Devnarain, Assistant coach: Garry Hampson.