Claire Taylor is the 7th Woman cricketer in the ICC Hall of Fame. ©Sky Sports

One of England’s stalwart and World-Cup hero Claire Taylor received an unparalleled honour by ICC as she became the 7th women cricketer to be inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame alongside her male counterparts – Rahul Dravid (India) and Ricky Pointing (Australia) for 2018.

ICC announced its selection after a gap of 2 years, when previously in 2016, Karen Rolton of Australia was inducted then along with 3 other legendary male players.

ICC started recognizing the contribution of Women cricketers by inducting them into the Hall Of Fame in 2010, the very next year of its inception.

ICC launched this as part of ICC’s Centenary celebration in 2009 in association with FICA (Federation of International Cricket Association), which became both annual or once in 2 years practice. The living legendary players also receive a Commemorative cap on this occasion. It recognises the achievements of the legends of the game from cricket’s long and illustrious history.

Claire Taylor is a former England top-order batswoman who amassed 5746 international runs across all the 3 formats with 12 centuries and 28 half-centuries to her name. Taylor reached the peak of her career in 2009 when she was adjudged the Player of the Series in the 2009 World Cup, which turned out to be a spectacular campaign that guided England to be the World Champions.

The 42-year-old has other numerous accolades to her name taking home the ICC Cricketer of the Year award in 2006 from where she continued to dominate the award for 3 consecutive years. She also top-ranked the ICC Batting list in 2008. She signed off her successful career in 2010 after which she was honoured with an MBE.

This recognition will inspire young talents around the world to take up Cricket.


Taylor, a solid top-order batswoman is the 28th English cricketer to be sworn-in among the esteemed dignitaries. She became England’s 3rd women cricketer by receiving the rare honour.

Women Cricketers in the Hall of Fame:

  • Rachael Heyhoe-Flint (2010)
  • Belinda Clark (2011)
  • Enid Bakewell (2012)
  • Debbie Hockley (2014)
  • Betty Wilson (2015)
  • Karen Rolton (2016)
  • Claire Taylor (2018)

Leave a Reply