Lauren Cheatle bowling to India. ©Cricket Australia

Lauren Cheatle and Jess Jonassen make a comeback into the Australian squad against New Zealand for the Rose Bowl ODI series. Australia has won the Rose Bowl trophy every time since 2000.

Jonassen returns after missing the series against Pakistan due to injury, while Cheatle is set to make a comeback in Australian colours after 2017. Cheatle had a spectacular domestic season where she took a 7 wicket haul at 12.3 to help NSW Breakers claim their third consecutive WNCL title.

“Lauren Cheatle really impressed on the Australia A tour to India in October, and it’s pleasing to see her back playing regular cricket after a string of injuries and we’re confident that her ability to swing the ball will be a challenge for New Zealand.”

Australia will miss their opener Nicole Bolton who will be unavailable for the series due to personal reasons. This leaves the opening slot to either be replaced by Beth Mooney or Rachael Haynes. There is also speculation on Elyse Villani to make a comeback in the playing squad.

“Selectors have opted to go with a squad very similar to the one that completed a clean sweep against Pakistan as well as winning the T20 World Cup late last year, with Nicole Bolton and Tayla Vlaeminck both unavailable for selection,” National Selector Shawn Flegler said.

“All progressing as planned, Elyse will tick off the final aspects of her rehabilitation over the next week and we expect that she will be fully fit for the start of the NZ series,” Australian Team Physiotherapist Kate Mahony said.

Australia will play the White Ferns in a 3 match series starting February 22 at Perth’s WACA Ground also including a match against the Governor General’s XI on the February 28 at the Drummoyne Oval.

The GG XI will be led by retired Australian legend Alex Blackwell and featuring young Australian Cricketers.

Also Read: Rosemary Mair poised for ODI debut in the Rose Bowl Series

Governor-General’s XI: Alex Blackwell (c), Erin Burns, Josie Dooley, Nicole Faltum (wk), Heather Graham, Sammy-Jo Johnson, Phoebe Litchfield, Tahlia McGrath, Rachel Rae-Martin, Annabel Sutherland, Rachel Trenaman, Belinda Vakarewa

Australia ODI squad: Meg Lanning (c), Rachael Haynes (vc), Nicola Carey, Lauren Cheatle, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Elyse Villani, Georgia Wareham

Leave a Reply