Central Sparks name squad for the Rachael Heyhoe-Flint trophy

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
Excited Issy Wong trains with players she watched in the 2017 World Cup final

Issy Wong © Getty Images

Rachael Heyhoe Flint trophy  that set to start on Saturday (August 29). The full squad was revealed on Wednesday (August 26).

Trio of Evelyn Jones, Marie Kelly and Issy Wong, who received regional retainers from West Midlands regional hub form the base of the squad. Jones represented Loughborough Lightning and Lancashire Thunder in the now defunct Women’s Cricket Super League (WCSL) and scored 366 runs from 25 matches.

18-year-old pacer Wong, the youngest to feature in the WCSL, is part of the 24-member England training squad. The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) have decided to release the players from the training squad for the first two rounds of the tournament.

Kelly, opening batter and captain of Warwickshire side, represented Southern Vipers in the last season of WCSL. Thea Brookes, Gwenan Davies and Georgia Davies are the other three players with WCSL experience under their belt.

ALSO READ: West Indies’ Hayley Matthews, CEO Johnny Grave express delight at “cricket-focussed” series versus ENG

The final of the competition has been pushed back a day to September 27 from September 26 with ECB announcing the schedule for England's five-T20I series against West Indies on Tuesday (August 25).

Once the England’s squad for the series against West Indies is announced, those not a part of the side will return to represent their respective franchises for the final rounds of the RHF Trophy.

Central Sparks are grouped with Northern Diamonds, Thunder and Lightning. They will face Diamonds at Edgbaston for their opening match of the tournament.

Squad: Evelyn Jones, Marie Kelly, Issy Wong, Emily Arlott, Hannah Baker, Clare Boycott, Thea Brookes, Gwenan Davies, Georgia Davies, Poppy Davies, Chloe Hill, Milly Home, Anisha Patel, Grace Potts, Liz Russell.