Canterbury Magicians announce 2020-21 domestic contracts; Kate Ebrahim returns

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
Rhys Morgan appointed head coach of Canterbury Magicians

Canterbury Magicians. © Getty Images

The Canterbury Magicians have confirmed the nine domestic players to be contracted for the 2020-21 season along with the three centrally contracted cricketers. 

 Kate Ebrahim, who returns to cricket after her maternity leave, is one among the nine domestic cricketers. The 28-year-old allrounder was the second-best batter in the 2018-19 season in the 50-over format, while also enjoying a successful Super Smash campaign, averaging over 46 with the bat. The former New Zealand allrounder will add great depth and experience to a group with several young players in the mix.

New Zealand vice-captain Amy Satterthwaite, who is one of the three centrally contracted players along with her partner Lea Tahuhu, too, has returned from pregnancy break and has been in good touch in the recently concluded Rose Bowl series.

ALSO READ: New Zealand Cricket announce Hallyburton Johnstone Shield schedule

Magicians head coach Rhys Morgan said that the return of the two veterans will add to the squad's strength, while also stating that he is excited to track the development of the younger players coming through the system.

“With both Kate and Amy returning from maternity leave and Frankie Mackay returning for her 13th season, we have some real depth and experience in our batting line up," he said.

“We have some amazing talent outside of our contracted group in Emma Kench, Kate Sims and Georgia Edge and I’m really excited to see these three play a big part in winning games for us. The whole squad has trained really hard all winter, and everyone has committed to coming back a better player”.

Canterbury Magicians will face Otago Sparks in their first game of the season on November 21, at Centennial Park in Oamaru.

Contracted domestic cricketers: Sarah Asmussen, Missy Banks, Natalie Cox, Kate Ebrahim, Laura Hughes, Allie Mace-Cochrane, Frances Mackay, Jess Simmons, Gabby Sullivan

Centrally contracted cricketers: Amy Satterthwaite, Lea Tahuhu, Jacinta Savage