Brooke Harris. © South Australia Scorpions/Twitter

Brooke Harris has been awarded the Karen Rolton Medal, Premier Cricket’s highest individual honour, for the second time, South Australia Cricket Association announced on Wednesday (March 25).

The Medals are awarded to the cricketers that poll the highest number of votes as cast by umpires in their respective First Grade competitions. Before this season, Harris won the medal playing for Western Torrens in 2017-18. This season, she’s just the third player ever to win it for Sturt, after Alex Price (2015-16) and Kris Britt (2006-07 and 2007-08).

Harris picked up 34 wickets in the season, the most ever for a First Grade campaign, averaging 8.24 with the ball. She earned votes in 10 of 15 rounds, polling 39 votes in total, 11 votes ahead of second-placed Tahlia McGrath (28 votes) of West Torrens.

Needless to say, Harris also made it to the Premier cricket’s women’s team of the year.

Karen Rolton Medal
Winner: Brooke Harris, Sturt (39 votes)
2nd: Tahlia McGrath, West Torrens (28 votes)
3rd: Sarah Lowe, Kensington (20 votes)

2019-20 Statewide Super Premier Cricket Women’s Team of the Year – voted on by captains and coaches and selected by a three-person panel: Tegan McPharlin (Northern Districts)(c, wk), Tahlia McGrath (West Torrens), Alex Price (Sturt), Annie O’Neil (Sturt), Eliza Doddridge (Kensington), Stacey Oates (Sturt), Brooke Harris (Sturt), Sarah Lowe (Kensington), Amanda-Jade Wellington (West Torrens), Sam Betts (Northern Districts), Shae Daly (Kensington), 12th: Kelly Armstrong (Southern District).


Leave a Reply