Australian Team. ©ICC

Australia will kickstart their preparations for the Women’s Ashes series to be held in July, by starting a three-week long training camp. The training camp will begin this week and it will be held at National Cricket Centre in Brisbane.

The Women’s Ashes will be first point of assessment for the squad which will head into a fully action packed summer later on, leading into Women’s T20 to be held in February. Australia last played any competitive cricket in March, when they won the ODI series at home against New Zealand.

Australian players did not even participate in Women’s T20 Challenge that concluded in India last week. The skipper Meg Lanning highlighted the importance of this camp by saying, “I’m looking forward to getting back together as a squad, it’s been a little while”.

The three-week camp will be split in three phases. In the first phase will be attended by half of the centrally-contracted players, and will feature fitness tests, skill-based sessions, and a reorientation into red-ball cricket for the first time since the 2017 Ashes. The second phase will start from the second week, from May 20 will see rest of the group joining. These players will stay back for the third and final phase starting May 27.

Talking about the split schedule of the camp, Queensland’s Beth Mooney said, “We’re the kind of group that don’t need long any more to get ready, we’ve got lots of years under our belts, and majority of the squad has been together for a long time,”. She also added, “It’s about fine tuning and getting some ‘k’s [distance] in our legs and getting back into the swing of cricket life.”

Members of the National Performance Squad will also get to train with the squad that is touring for the Ashes. This will present the players with an excellent opportunity to force into the national team or Australia ‘A’ team which will also tour England in July.

Australia will announce the final touring squad that will compete for the Ashes in the format that was similar to that of 2017. They will play 3 ODIs, one-off Test and 3 T20I.

Leave a Reply