Alyssa Healy to lead NSW Breakers in WNCL opening matches; Rachael Haynes all set to return

Alyssa Healy to lead NSW Breakers in WNCL opening matches; Rachael Haynes all set to return

Alyssa Healy in action for NSW Breakers © Getty Images

New South Wales Breakers announced a star-studded 14-member squad for the first two matches of the Women’s National Cricket League (WNCL) that’s scheduled to start from December 17 (Friday). They will face Victoria in their first two matches of the competition on December 17 and 19.

WNCL scheduled has been tweaked with the ongoing border restrictions owing to the new variant of COVID-19 virus forced a few changes. Defending champions Queensland will take on Tasmania in Hobart in the opening fixture on December 17, while Breakers and Victoria will face off against each other in Melbourne.

Australia wicket-keeper Alyssa Healy will lead the side with experienced Rachael Haynes all set to return from the hamstring injury that kept her out of the India series in September. Other than these two, Breakers will have four more Australia internationals in Ashleigh Gardner, Erin Burns, Hannah Darlington and Stella Campbell.

Left-arm seamer Lauren Cheatle has been omitted from the squad as she continues her rehabilitation on her shoulder injury. Pacer Maitlan Brown, left-hand batter Phoebe Litchfield also are part of the strong squad with uncapped Emma Hughes, Jade Allen and Claire Moore rounding up the line-up.

ALSO READ: Kapp's day out as Perth Scorchers romp to maiden WBBL title

Their opponents Victoria will be without their skipper Meg Lanning as she has been given a rest for the first two matches. Allrounder Ellyse Perry will take charge of the side in the absence of Australia skipper. They are also hit by injuries to Sophie Molineux and Georgia Wareham, both the spinners suffered major injuries during their WBBL07 campaigns.

NSW Breakers: Alyssa Healy (c), Jade Allen, Maitlan Brown, Erin Burns, Stella Campbell, Hannah Darlington, Ashleigh Gardner, Rachael Haynes, Emma Hughes, Anika Learoyd, Phoebe Litchfield, Claire Moore, Lauren Smith, Tahlia Wilson

Victoria: Ellyse Perry (c), Tiana Atkinson, Samantha Bates, Makinley Blows, Lucy Cripps, Sophie Day, Nicole Faltum, Tess Flintoff, Kim Garth, Ella Hayward, Anna Lanning, Rhys McKenna, Rhiann O'Donnell, Lara Shannon, Annabel Sutherland, Amy Vine, Tayla Vlaeminck

Read The Next Article