Bowlers’ day out as Nair, Dutta star for Nagaland and Meghalaya in Senior One-day Trophy

New Update
Bowlers’ day out as Nair, Dutta star for Nagaland and Meghalaya in Senior One-day Trophy

Nagaland players pose for a photograph after their win. © Nagaland/Facebook

Trisha Nair picked up a five-wicket haul to help Nagaland skittle out Mizoram for just 86 in their Senior One-day Trophy encounter on Friday (February 21) while Sikkim succumbed to their second defeat of the competition.

Batting first, the Mizoram batters couldn't dwell with the fiery bowling from Nair as she along with Madhumonti (2/8) just ripped apart the opposition line-up in 40.5 overs. In reply, Nagaland just took 27 overs to get over the line losing just a couple of wickets.

In another match of the day, Ananya Upendran was again the star for Sikkim with a valuable 47 with the bat but didn't get the support she needed. In the end Sikkim only managed 146 for the loss of nine wickets in 50 overs, thanks to DD Dutta's four wickets for 11 runs. In reply, Meghalaya raced to victory in 40.5 overs with Saee Purandare (38) and Vandana Mahajan (27 not out) top-scoring for the winners.

In the last match of the day, Bihar downed Arunachal Pradesh by a whopping 150-run margin. Batting first, Bihar posted a challenging score of 250 for seven wickets which proved too much for Arunachal Pradesh who were bundled out for 100 in 43.1 overs. Nivedita of Bihar picked up three wickets and was well supported by Rachana Kumari who scalped a couple.

Brief scores

Mizoram 86 all out in 40.5 overs (Apurva Bhardwaj 25; Trishna Nair 5/16, Madhumonti 2/8) lost to Nagaland 87/2 in 27 overs (Nazma 38*; Buley Ruchita 1/12) by eight wickets.

Bihar 250/7 in 50 overs (Preeti Kumari 47, Sana Ali 47; Nabam Yapu 1/28) beat Arunachal Pradesh 100 all out in 43.1 overs (Nabam Yapu 27; Nivedita 3/17, Rachana Kumari 2/17) by 150 runs.

Sikkim 146/9 in 50 overs (Ananya Upendran 47; DD Dutta 4/11, Pinky Chanda 3/30) lost to Meghalaya 147/6 in 40.5 overs (Saee Purandare 38, Vandana Mahajan 27*; Shubi Pandey 2/14, Ananya Upendran 1/32) by four wickets.