Bengal to face Railways in Senior One Day semi-final; Karnataka to take on Punjab

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
BCCI to discuss future of domestic season in apex council meeting

BCCI © Getty Images

Bengal trumped Delhi in a thriller, inching their way to the semi-final of the Senior One Day Tournament along with Karnataka as the southern state beat Punjab by five wickets on Tuesday (November 16). Bengal and Karnataka will face Railways and Punjab in the semi-finals, respectively.

Opting to field first, Karnataka dismissed both Neha Badwaik and Anushka Sharma early. Aashna Patidar and Pooja Vastrakar tried to build a partnership, reviving the innings. While S R Patil got rid of Patida for 19 runs from 32 balls, Vastrakar scored 40 runs from 75 balls before getting out to Chandu V.

Soumya Tiwari made a fighting 45 from 73 balls, but C Prathyusha and Sahana S Pawar ran through the Madhya Pradesh lower order, restricting them to 169 for nine in 48 overs. Chandu, Prathyusha and Patil took two wickets each for Karnataka.


Chasing a sub-par total, Karnataka lost D Vrinda cheaply, S Shubha and G Divya kept the innings going, with the latter picking up some quick boundaries. Divya made a breezy 25-ball 28 before getting out trying to slog-sweep Priti Yadav.

Shubha got out shortly after for 43 runs from 70 balls to Anushka Sharma. Veda Krishnamurthy and Patil, too, did not last long. However, K Prathyoosha and Prathyusha held their nerve and took the team across the line.

Prathyoosha top-scored with 45 runs from 58 balls, and the leg-spinning allrounder remained not out at the other end with a 28-ball 15.


Meanwhile, Rumeli Dhar started well for Bengal against Delhi, dismissing Vandana Chaturvedi and Pratika early. Priya Punia built partnerships with Laxmi Yadav and Ayushi Soni, taking the Delhi innings forwards. 

Yadav made 24 runs from 49 balls before getting out to Gouher Sultana, while Punia fell short of her hundred by ten runs. Soni made an unbeaten 52 from 80 balls, taking Delhi to 185 for five in 50 overs.

In reply, Bengal lost Vanitha VR, Mita Paul, Dhar and PP Paul cheaply. Delhi bowlers ran through the Bengal top-order, but Dhara Gujjar held forte at one end.

Despite losing partners at regular intervals, Gujjar kept Bengal in the chase, making 75 runs in 120 balls. She was the eighth wicket to fall, with Bengal struggling at 163 for eight.

Jhumia Khatum scored a crucial 36 from 45 balls, while Saika Ishaque remained unbeaten with an eight-ball 14, taking the team across the line in the final over of the innings. 

Brief Scores:

Madhya Pradesh 169/9 in 48 overs (Soumya Tiwari 45; Chandu V 2/25) lost to Karnataka 170/5 in 42.2 overs (K Prathyoosha 45*; Anushka Sharma 2/34) by five wickets.

Delhi 185/5 in 50 overs (Priya Punia 90; Rumeli Dhar 2/29) lost to Bengal 189/9 in 49.1 overs (Dhara Gujjar 75; Simran Dil Bahadur 2/17) by one wicket.