Poonam Yadav has two five-wicket hauls in the inter-state 50-over competition. ©ICC

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has recommended Poonam Yadav for the Arjuna Award 2019. Arjuna Award is a prestigious honour bestowed by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Government of India in order to recognise outstanding achievement by the athletes.

Alongside Poonam, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami from the Indian Men’s team have also been recommended.

India’s T20 vice captain Smriti Mandhana won the award last year while her captain Harmanpreet Kaur won it in 2017.

Leave a Reply