BCCI clears domestic award winners’ dues after four months

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
Deepti Sharma: self-effacing words, attention-seeking performances

Deepti Sharma poses for a photo. © Women's CricZone/S. Sudarshanan

India internationals Shafali Verma and Deepti Sharma are among the list of award winners at the domestic level, who have received their prize money, after the Board of Control for Cricket (BCCI) released the financial assistance, four months after the award ceremony, according to reports. The list also included eight male cricketers.

While Shafali was awarded the best player in junior cricket, Deepti took the top prize in the senior category. Both the players received an amount of Rs 1.5 lakh each. All the awards were announced at a function held in Mumbai in January. The BCCI’s decision comes in as a huge boost for all of them who have been affected by the COVID-19 pandemic for close to two months now.

ALSO READ: Fully recovered Shyama Dey eager to enjoy ‘new life’

Former Indian cricketer Manoj Prabhakar who was banned for five years for alleged match-fixing in 2000 will also be given his pending dues by the BCCI that amount to over Rs 1 crore. Meanwhile, BCCI chief executive officer Rahul Johri has been granted a one-year extension by the BCCI Apex Council as the board felt his expertise would be needed during dealings with the ICC. He had tendered his resignation to Secretary Jay Shah a few months ago and his tenure was to end in April.