Bangladesh look to extend their winning streak; Ireland, Zimbabwe seek redemption

New Update
Bangladesh look to extend their winning streak; Ireland, Zimbabwe seek redemption

Rumana Ahmad, Nattakan Chantham and Gaby Lewis (L to R) © Getty Images

The ODI World Cup Qualifiers have already witnessed an upset with Bangladesh beating Pakistan, and  Thailand holding their nerve against hosts Zimbabwe. On day three, Bangladesh, Ireland, and the Netherlands will make their case for the spot in the World Cup.

From group B, Bangladesh will face Thailand, who crumbled against Pakistan in their previous match. Rumana Ahmed’s allround performance under pressure guided Bangladesh home in the first match. Sharmin Akhter and Fargana Haque batted exceptionally well against the USA to build a massive first-innings total. Bangladesh look like a complete side with multiple players standing up on different occasions. They would like to improve on their death bowling especially against the quality side like Thailand.

After starting their campaign with a thrilling win, Thailand could not repeat the same against the better-ranked Pakistan. Thipatcha Putthawong’s five-wicket haul led to yet another collapse from Pakistan. Their batting, on the other hand, was not up to the mark in the chase. Bangladesh’s experienced bowling attack will ask difficult questions, and if Thailand were to make keep themselves alive in the tournament they will have to improve upon it.


After a commendable fight in the tournament opener, hosts Zimbabwe would want to earn their first points of the tournament. The experienced duo of captain Mary-Anne Musondo and Josephine Nkomo will have to take the responsibility of batting against USA. Newbie Sharne Mayers has looked promising so far, but Zimbabwe will need a better team performance. Zimbabwe’s bowling unit lacks the depth of better-ranked sides of the tournament, but they will have a real opportunity against the USA.

USA’s bowling attack looked like a deer caught in the headlights against Bangladesh. All the bowlers used by captain Sindhu Sriharsha were hit all over the park, including an experienced player like Tara Norris. Even after that lacklustre performance, Norris still holds the key for the USA. In the batting department, Sriharsha and vice-captain Shebani Bhaskar will be crucial.

Ireland’s opening match against the strong West Indies unit was a reality check as they were thoroughly outplayed. Apart from the opening pair of Leah Paul and Gaby Lewis all the other batters struggled against West Indies. Allrounder Eimar Richardson was flawless as she took two wickets and scored 32 runs. Ireland can bounce back as they showed it in the series against Zimbabwe recently. They have the real opportunity to do so against Netherlands.


The Dutch, playing their first one-dayer since 2011, bounced back well against Sri Lanka after being wayward with the ball. Caroline de Lange went for runs but was able to pick four Sri Lankan wickets. Netherlands will have a great opportunity against Ireland as the sides have faced each other in the recent past albeit in a different format. As expected, Sterre Kalis was responsible for holding the batting innings together alongside Babette de Leede, who looked primed for the responsibility.

All the six teams have a real chance to beat their oppositions tomorrow. Will that really happen? Only time will tell.

Brief Scores:

Bangladesh: Nigar Sultana (captain), Khadija-Tul Kubra, Fahima Khatun, Salma Khatun, Jahanara Alam, Fargana Hoque, Nuzhat Tasnia, Rumana Ahmed, Lata Mondol, Nahida Akter, Murshida Khatun, Ritu Moni, Fariha Islam, Sharmin Akter, Sobhana Mostary

Thailand: Naruemol Chaiwai (C), Chanida Sutthiruang, Thiapatcha Putthawong, Nannaphat Chaihan, Banthida Leephatthana, Nattakan Chantham, Suleeporn Laomi, Sornnarin Tippoch, Rosenanee Kanho, Wongpaka Liengprasert, Phannita Maya, Nattaya Boochatham, Onnicha Kamchomphu, Nannapat Koncharoenkai (VC), Kanyakorn Bunthansen.

Zimbabwe: Mary-Anne Musonda (captain), Josephine Nkomo, Modester Mupachikwa, Precious Marange, Sharne Mary Mayers, Loryn Phiri, Nyasha Gwanzura Nomatter Mutasa, Loreen Tshuma, Nomvelo Sibanda, Chiyedza Dhururu, Esther Mbofana, Audrey Mazvishaya, Francesca Chipare, Christabel Chatonzwa.

USA: Sindhu Sriharsha (captain), Shebani Bhaskar, Akshatha Rao, Uzma Iftikhar, Tara Norris, Anika Kolan, Chetnaa Prasad, Moksha Chaudhary, Sara Farooq, Isani Vaghela, Gargi Bhogle, Suhani Thadani, Lisa Ramjit, Geetika Kodali, Mahika Kandanala

Ireland: Laura Delany (c), Georgina Dempsey, Amy Hunter, Shauna Kavanagh, Gaby Lewis, Louise Little, Sophie MacMahon, Jane Maguire, Cara Murray, Leah Paul, Orla Prendergast, Celeste Raack, Eimear Richardson, Rebecca Stokell, Mary Waldron. Travelling reserve: Sarah Forbes. Non-travelling reserves: Alana Dalzell and Kate McEvoy

Netherlands: Heather Siegers (c), Babette de Leede, Caroline de Lange, Eva Lynch, Frédérique Overdijk, Gwen Bloemen, Hannah Landheer, Iris Zwilling, Isabel van der Woning, Jolien van Vliet, Juliet Post, Marloes Braat, Robine Rijke, Silver Siegers, Sterre Kalis.