Nigar Sultana to lead 15-member Bangladesh squad in Commonwealth Games Qualifiers

New Update
Nigar Sultana Joty ton, Fahima Khatun four help Bangladesh Emerging take 4-0 lead over South Africa Emerging

Nigar Sultana hits one through the off side. © ICC

Nigar Sultana will lead the 15-member Bangladesh side for the Commonwealth Games Qualifiers that’s scheduled to be played from January 18 to 24 in Malaysia, Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced on Friday (January 7). Experienced pacer Jahanara Alam couldn’t make it to the main squad, but has been picked as one of the three standby players.

24-year-old Sutlana, already named the ODI captain, will replace the experienced Salma Khatun as the T20I captain to lead Bangladesh in the five-team tournament. They will start their campaign with the match against Kenya on 18. The hosts Malaysia, Scotland and Sri Lanka are the other three sides in the competition.

BCB selector Monjurul Islam said that they have picked a balanced squad keeping the tournament in mind and some young players also has been selected with an eye on the future.

“We have a balanced squad for this competition and players have been picked according to some specific criteria we have set,” Islam said in a statement. “I think this event is also a good stage to give opportunities to some emerging talent as we need to plan for the future as well.”

ALSO READ: Scotland announce 14-member squad for Commonwealth Games Qualifiers in Malaysia starting on January 18

According to the release Bangladesh will depart to Malaysia on January 8. All the five teams will face each other once in the tournament and the league winner will join the seven other sides for the Birmingham Commonwealth Games in UK that’s scheduled to be played from July 28 to August 8 this year.

The hosts England, Australia, Barbados, India, Pakistan, New Zealand and South Africa have already qualified for the main event. The winner of the Qualifier will join Group A that consists of England, New Zealand and South Africa.

Bangladesh squad: Nigar Sultana (c), Rumana Ahmed, Salma Khatun, Fargana Hoque, Shamima Sultana, Fahima Khatun, Ritu Moni, Murshida Khatun, Nahida Akter, Sharmin Akter, Lata Mondol, Sobhana Mostary, Fariha Islam Trisna, Sanjida Akter Meghla, Suraiya Azmim

Standbys: Jahanara Alam, Khadiza-Tul Kubra, Nuzhat Tasnia