Ayesha Zafar helps Pakistan A whitewash West Indies A

New Update
Ayesha Zafar helps Pakistan A whitewash West Indies A

Pakistan A after their series win against West Indies A. © Cricket West Indies

An unbeaten half-century by Ayesha Zafar and an ungenerous Pakistan A bowling attack swept West Indies A for a whitewash, winning the final T20 by a massive eight-wicket margin. In a match played at Sir Vivian Richards Stadium on Sunday (July 4) before national sides locked horns, captain Reniece Boyce’s 42 went in vain as West Indies A looked clueless in all three departments.

For Pakistan A, Rameen Shamim won the toss and invited their opponents to bat first. West Indies A started well with Boyce and Rashada Williams’ scoring at a healthy run rate of six. Once Williams fell in the fifth over, Pakistan squeezed the run rate and the home side could only score 25 runs in the next nine overs.

Boyce (42) was run out in the 17th over, followed by the first-ball duck for Qiana Joseph meant death over hitting was out of the question for West Indies A. Syeda Aroob Shah removed Sheneta Grimmond in the penultimate over and the batting innings was bundled for six for 99 at the end of the 20 overs.

ALSO READ: The hunger to score runs for India has never dried up: Mithali Raj

In the chase, Pakistan A started cautiously as the opening pair of Zafar and Javeria Rauf could only score 15 runs in four overs. Grimmond removed Rauf in the fifth over to see Omaima Sohail partner with Zafar for the next six over. Right arm pace bowler, Shabika Gajnabi was able to get rid of Sohail in the 10th over.

Zafar then steadied the ship and formed a partnership of 50 runs with Kainat Imtiaz and Pakistan A chased down the target in the 19th over. Zafar was the difference among the sides as she scored 53 runs off 57 balls including three fours and a six and helped Pakistan A complete a whitewash.

Brief Score: West Indies A 99/6 in 20 overs (Reniece Boyce 42, Japhina Joseph 15; Syeda Aroob Shah 2/13) lost to Pakistan A 100/2 in 18.4 overs (Ayesha Zafar 53*, Kainat Imtiaz 19*; Shabika Gajnabi 1/18) by eight wickets