Sri Lanka Team Preview: No Atapattu, can Sri Lanka prevail?

Priya Chauhan
31 May 2018
Sri Lanka Team Preview: No Atapattu, can Sri Lanka prevail?

Shashikala Siriwardene. ©ICC

The 2018 Women's T20 Asia Cup is set to take place between 3rd and 10th June 2018 in Malaysia. The tournament will be contested between Bangladesh, India, Malaysia, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Thailand.

Currently, ranked 8th in the ICC Women's rankings, Sri Lankan team looks out of favour after losing skipper Atapattu and Kanchana to illness.

Here is the preview on the Team Sri Lanka:


Key Players:

Captain Siriwardane who is a veteran of more than 100 ODIs for the team will look forward to a great T20 show. Sugandika Kumari was impressive in the recent Pakistan series scalping two crucial wickets in a must-win match. Hasini Perera, just 22 years old will add to the batting prowess of the team.



Siriwardane, Sugandika Kumari, Hasini Perera and Rebeca Vandort will be the nuclei of the team.



The absence of regular captain Chamari Atapattu and Ama Kanchana due to dengue fever is a reason to worry. Atapattu made a brilliant 178 not out against Australia in 2017 World Cup and had displayed fireworks in the WBBL 03 season playing for the Melbourne Renegades.


Previous Performances:

The team stood 3rd in Asia Cup 2016 winning three out of five matches.


Asia Cup full schedule

Sri Lanka squad for the Asia Cup announced


Shashikala Siriwardene (Captain), Hasini Perera (Vice Captain), Yasoda Mendis, Anushka Sanjeewani, Rebeca Vandort, Nilakshi de Silva, Udeshika Prabodhani, Sugandika Kumari, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Nipuni Hansika, Malsha Shehani, Achini Kulasooriya, Harshitha Madavi, Inoshi Fernando, Inoka Ranaweera /codes_iframe