Ashleigh Gardner named Indigenous Player of the Year

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
Ashleigh Gardner named Indigenous Player of the Year

Ashleigh Gardner in action. © Getty Images

For the second year running Ashleigh Gardner was named the Indigenous Player of the Year for her contributions through the 2019-20 Australian domestic season. The allrounder, who represented New South Wales in the Women’s National Cricket League (WNCL) and Sydney Sixers in the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) and also played a role in Australia’s fifth successful T20 World Cup campaign, was recognised as a role model for indigenous Australians in cricket.

Both Sophie Devine and Nicole Bolton, who received their respective awards earlier in the season, were the other individual award winners. While Devine was named the WBBL player of the tournament for her incredible allround efforts that helped Adelaide Strikers reach the final, Bolton was rewarded for her consistent showings through Western Australia’s maiden WNCL title-winning run.

Although they failed to win a title this year, New South Wales claimed the ‘Spirit of Cricket’ award for the ninth time. However, they had to share it with both Tasmania – who won it last year – and Australian Capital Territory – first time winners.

ALSO READ: Ashleigh Gardner - WBBL find, World T20 star

Elsewhere, Paul Wilson took home the Umpire Award for the second year running while the quintet of Marnus Labuschagne, Usman Khawaja (one-day tournament), Moises Henriques, Nic Maddinson (Sheffield Shield) and Marcus Stoinis (BBL) took home the individual awards for the men.

“We’d like to applaud the winners of all nine State Cricket Awards after another successful domestic season,” said Drew Ginn, Cricket Australia executive general manager. “It is pleasing to see players and teams from across the country recognised in these awards, a testament to the strength of our domestic competitions.”

“While the ongoing coronavirus threat will ensure our players and umpires across the country undertake a very different preparation for next season, we look forward to the return of domestic cricket in the summer of 2020-21.”

Award winners:

WNCL Player of the Year – Nicole Bolton (Western Australia)

WBBL Player of the Year – Sophie Devine (Adelaide Strikers)

Indigenous Player of the YearAshleigh Gardner (Australia, New South Wales, Sydney Sixers)      

Spirit of Cricket Award – ACT, New South Wales & Tasmania 

Cricket Australia Umpire Award – Paul Wilson