Ashleigh Gardner wins the Belinda Clark award; Alyssa Healy and Beth Mooney get top honours

Ashleigh Gardner wins the Belinda Clark award; Alyssa Healy and Beth Mooney get top honours

Ashleigh Gardner © Getty Images

Ashleigh Gardner has been recognised as the winner of the Belinda Clark award at the 2022 Australian Cricket Awards. The 24-year-old allrounder had a terrific 2021 with her all-round performances for Australia and achieved her maiden Belinda Clark award. Apart from her, Beth Mooney was recognised as the T20I Player of the Year while Alyssa Healy was named the ODI Player of the Year. 

Gardner had a consistent run with both bat and ball. The allrounder scored 281 runs across formats in 10 innings at an average of 35.10 in 2021. Her performances included four half centuries, including her memorable knock of 73 not out against New Zealand in March 2021 in Hamilton. Chasing 131, Australia were reduced to 14 for 3, only to be rescued by Gardner's brilliant innings which came off just 48 balls. 

Later in the year, she also scored her maiden Test fifty against India. She also took nine wickets with the ball and was consistently a top-notch fielder. Gardner managed to surpass Mooney and Healy to get the maximum votes. Healy though managed to bag the ODI Player of the Year beating Rachael Haynes and Megan Schutt to it. 

Healy played six ODIs in 2021 scoring 267 runs at an average of 44.50 and a strike rate of 94. She scored two fifties, including her highest score of 77 against India. Mooney won the T20I Player of the Year, having scored 160 runs at an average of 40, with a strike rate of 116. Her best score of the year came against New Zealand when she scored 61 not out in Napier. She beat Tahlia McGrath and Gardner to the prize. 

Apart from the three major awards, Cricket Australia also announced the winner of the Domestic Player of the Year, which was won by Elyse Villani, who scored four centuries and 1050 runs in 21 games with an average of 61.8. 18-year-old Darcie Brown was awarded the Betty Wilson Young Cricketer of the Year for taking 30 wickets across all competitions. 

Lastly, ACT Meteor Zoe Cooker was awarded as the Community Champion for her work supporting, promoting and advocating women’s cricket in the ACT. She played a role in coaching and mentoring young players coming through the pathway system.

Read The Next Article