Early start for Ashes to accommodate World Cup quarantine measures

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
Series Preview: The Ashes - England vs Australia

The Women's Ashes Trophy. ©Getty Images

The multi-format Ashes series between Australia and England will start a week earlier than originally planned, the series will now start on January 20. The changes were necessary to accommodate the 10-day mandatory quarantine period in New Zealand ahead of the ICC World Cup, beginning on March 4.

According to the new schedule, the series will start with three T20Is at the Adelaide Oval from January 20. Adelaide will host all three matches of the T20I leg of the series. The one-off Test, scheduled in Canberra, will go ahead as planned from January 27 to 30. Teams will play the first match of the ODI leg of the series in Canberra before moving to Junction Oval in Melbourne for the final two ODIs.

The Ashes series was originally scheduled to begin with the Test match in Canberra from January 27, followed by two T20Is at the North Sydney Oval and a T20I, ODI at the Adelaide Oval. The final two ODIs were planned for Junction Oval in Melbourne before teams could depart for World Cup in New Zealand.

ALSO READ: Charlie Dean, Maia Bouchier earn maiden Ashes call ups as England announce 17-member squad

Nick Hockley, Cricket Australia CEO, shared his views on the changes in the schedule. “We have needed to make changes to the schedule and we’re grateful to all parties for their flexibility in ensuring that both Australia and England can travel to New Zealand with sufficient time to complete their mandatory quarantine period ahead of what will be an exciting World Cup for both teams,” he said.

The series between Australia ‘A’ and England ‘A’ will go ahead as planned as well. The T20 series will be played entirely at the Karen Rolton Oval in Adelaide, while 50-over matches will be hosted at Phillip Oval in Canberra. The annual Governor-General’s XI match has been cancelled.

Hockley expressed his disappointment as New South Wales missed out on hosting opportunities yet again. “Regrettably, logistical considerations have meant that we have had to move two T20 games from North Sydney Oval, which has long been the home of the women’s game in Sydney, and it is also disappointing that the annual Governor-General’s XI match scheduled to be played at Drummoyne Oval is unable to proceed this season,” he added.

ALSO READ: Determined Heather Knight wants to be aggressive against rampant Australia

England have already announced their squad for the Ashes as well as for the England ‘A’ series. Australia are expected to announce the squad for the multi-format series soon. ICC no. 1 ranked bowler, Jess Jonassen is likely to make her return for Australia along with Megan Schutt, who missed the series against India. Australia will be without Georgia Wareham and Sophie Molineux as they suffered injuries during the Women’s Big Bash League.

Women’s Ashes Schedule:

January 20: 1st T20I, Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

January 22: 2nd T20I, Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

January 23: 3rd T20I, Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

January 27 – January 30: Test Match, Manuka Oval, Canberra

February 3: 1st ODI, Manuka Oval, Canberra

February 6: 2nd ODI, Junction Oval, Melbourne

February 8: 3rd ODI, Junction Oval, Melbourne