Ashes series to begin on January 27 with the Test match at Manuka Oval

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
Match Preview: 1st ODI – The Ashes - England vs Australia

Meg Lanning and Heather Knight with the Women's Ashes Trophy. © Getty Images

The multi-format Ashes series will begin on January 27 next year with a Test at the Manuka Oval followed by three T20Is and three ODIs, Cricket Australia (CA) announced early on Wednesday (May 19). Australia will also play a series against India at the start of the season, the dates of which are yet to be confirmed.

“Not even a global pandemic could stop the momentum created by the Australian women’s team after the record-breaking T20 World Cup in 2020,” said Nick Hockley, Interim CEO, CA. “Australia’s favourite national sporting team will face off against two of its biggest rivals this summer.”

“A series against India, an Ashes, a World Cup and a Commonwealth Games represents an enormous challenge for the Australians, but Meg Lanning’s squad has proven time and again that they thrive in the most competitive of environments.”

Two T20Is between Australia and England will be played at the North Sydney Oval, before moving to Adelaide Oval for the final T20I and the first ODI. The last two of the three ODIs will be played at the Junction Oval on Melbourne, with the series concluding on February 19.

ALSO READ: Laura Delany, Gaby Lewis eager to take massive strides ahead of crucial year for Ireland

Ashes © Women's CricZone

All T20Is will be night games, to be played under lights. Australia won the Ashes the last time the arch-rivals met in 2019. The Ashes will be followed by the Women’s World Cup in New Zealand after which Australia will feature in the Birmingham Commonwealth Games.

Meanwhile, as reported by Women’s CricZone earlier, the series between Australia and India will also feature a Test, which means India will be playing two Tests in this year – much like 2014 – beginning with the one-off game on the England tour. However, the dates of the tour are yet to be decided.

The series against India will be followed by the Women’s Big Bash League, which will feature two Indians in Shafali Verma and Radha Yadav.


Ashes fixtures:

One-off Test – Jan 27-30, Manuka Oval


1st T20I – February 4, North Sydney Oval (N)

2nd T20I – February 6, North Sydney Oval (N)

3rd T20I – February 10, Adelaide Oval (N)


1st ODI – February 13, Adelaide Oval

2nd ODI – February 16, Junction Oval

3rd ODI – February 19, Junction Oval