Amelia Kerr wins top honours at Cricket Wellington Awards for 2021

Amelia Kerr in action for Wellington Blaze. © Cricket Wellington

Wellington Blaze star Amelia Kerr bagged top honours at the annual Cricket Wellington Awards for the season 2020-21. The leg-spinning allrounder was named the Blaze Cricketer of the Year and the women’s allrounder of the year for her performance in international and domestic cricket this year. 

Amelia scored 361 runs at 51.57, operating at a strike rate of 134.7 for the Wellington Blaze in the Super Smash 2021 below Sophie Devine and Amy Satterthwaite. She also took 14 wickets and played a crucial role in taking the team to the final.

While Wellington Collegians wicketkeeper batter Florence Marshall win the Judith Sadler Cup for scoring the most runs in the premier women’s tournament, her teammate Abby Carr was awarded the Majorie Sweetman Cup for most wickets.

Hannah Francis won the Women’s Senior Club Cricketer of the Year for her performance for Petone-Riverside this season. Olivia Boivin from Hutt District won the Trish McKelvey Cup for fair play in women’s club cricket.

All award winners:

 Blaze Cricketer of the Year – Amelia Kerr

Women’s Allrounder of the Year – Amelia Kerr

Judith Sadler Cup – Florence Marshall 

Majorie Sweetman Cup – Abby Carr 

Women’s Senior Club Cricketer of the Year – Hannah Francis 

Trish McKelvey Cup – Olivia Boivin