Alyssa Healy was awarded the Belinda Clark Award. ©Cricket Australia

At the Australia Cricket Awards in Melbourne, Alyssa Healy was crowned Belinda Clark Award and she also swept off the ODI and T20I player of the year. Healy, having made her international debuted in 2010, has now been officially named Australia’s best cricketer for 2018. To win her maiden Belinda Clark Award, Alyssa Healy (125 votes) beat Megan Schutt (81 votes), who was the runner-up with 8 wickets in 5 ODIs and 28 wickets in 17 T20I.

Alyssa Healy was also rewarded for a fantastic year in ODI and was on the winning side every ODI she played in the last year. Having played 6 matches scoring 329 runs, she made an unbeaten score of 133 against India. She was also declared the player of the tournament for the World T20 2018. As a wicket-keeper she has been regarded as one of the world’s best behind the stumps, taking 18 catches and 15 stumpings in this year across ODIs and T20Is. She was declared T20I player the year, for having scored 578 runs in the 17 matches. Nicole Bolton (12 votes) lost to Healy (13 votes) with a whisker in the ODI Player of the Year.

The 19-year-old leg-spinner, Georgia Wareham has been awarded Betty Wilson Award, a start to the career everyone wishes for. She caught the eyes of the selectors after an impressive season. Wareham has taken 14 international wickets and made a place for herself in the Australia squad. To win the award, she collected a massive 74 per cent of the vote leaving behind Annabel Sutherland.

Heather Graham was crowned as Domestic Player of the year after her exploits with both bat and ball in WBBL and WNCL.  

Cathryn Fitzpatrick cemented herself in the Hall of fame, being the second highest wicket-taker in woman’s ODI history. She once held the crown of the world’s fastest bowler in women’s cricket, for most of her career and also won many awards over the course of her career, including Women’s International Cricketer of the Year in 2004. She held the record of 180 ODI wickets at an average of 16.73 for over 10 years which eventually was broken by India’s Jhulan Goswami.

The awards were dominated by Meg Lanning and allrounder Ellyse Perry for the past five years.

List of winners for the Australia Cricket Award 2018:

Belinda Clark Award: Alyssa Healy

Betty Wilson Award: Georgia Wareham

ODI Player Of the Year: Alyssa Healy

T20I Player Of the Year: Alyssa Healy

Domestic Player of the Year: Heather Graham

Leave a Reply