All round Jhansi Lakshmi and Asha Joy headline day eight of Senior One Day Trophy

New Update
Bengal, Railways maintain unbeaten run on their way to the knockouts

Indian Railways T20 team. © Asha Joy

Andhra Pradesh allrounder C H Jhansi Lakshmi scored 80 and took three for 34 in a Group C match against Maharashtra at Jaipur, while Asha S Joy smashed a 107-ball 85 and helped Railways beat Saurashtra in a Group B fixture of the Senior One Day Trophy at Rajkot on Thursday(March 18).

After opting to bat, Lakshmi, with N Anusha, added 109 runs for the first wicket. Andhra finished with 230 for three after 50 overs. Maharastra were all out for 185 courtesy of Lakshmi's three-fer. S A Lonkar made a fighting half-century for Maharashtra.

In the other Group C matches, Goa defeated Uttar Pradesh by three wickets, and Rajasthan trumped Chattisgarh by 43 runs. P B Sharma top-scored for Rajasthan with 108 runs from 135 balls.

For Railways, Asha, who walked in at number three, anchored the innings and helped the team took past the 250-run mark. N Chavda took four for 54 runs for Saurashtra. Railways skipper Sneh Rana took six for 32 and helped them restrict Saurashtra for just 115. 

Haryana beat Uttarkhand by two wickets in a close finish, as Versha Bhatiwal and Savita Malik helped them chase 182 in 48.5 overs.

In Group A of the Senior One Day Trophy, Hyderabad, Odisha and Gujarat registered wins against Chattisgarh, Jharkhand and Tripura, respectively.

Brief Scores:

Group A (Surat)

Hyderabad 258/6 in 50 overs (Ramya 132; Mamta Paswan 2/28) beat Jharkhand 231/7 in 50 overs (Niharika 45; Rachna Kumar 2/24) by 27 runs.

Chhattisgarh 148/10 in 49.4 overs (Manpreet Kaur 32; Rasanara Parwin 3/17) lost to Odisha 152/5 in 40.1 (Madhuri Meheta 47, Manpreet Kaur 2/23) by five wickets.

Tripura 145/9 in 50 overs (RR Saha 62; Krutikaben 2/19) lost to Gujarat 146/3 in 35.5 overs (Sarvi 69; M K Rabidas 1/22) by seven wickets.

Group B (Rajkot)

Railways 254/7 in 50 overs (Asha S 85; N Chavda 5/54) beat Saurashtra 115/9 in 50 overs (P S Nimavat 61; Sneh Rana 6/32) by 139 runs.

Bengal 189/7 in 50 overs (P P Paul 77; Mousumi Narah 2/25) beat Assam 136/9 in 50 overs (Gayatri Gurung 62; Dhar 4/29) by 53 runs.

Uttarakhand 181/10 in 48.5 overs (Raghvi 66; Suman Gulia 5/39) lost to Haryana 182/8 in 48.5 overs (Versha Bhatiwal 58; Radha Chand 3/33) by two wickets.

Group C (Jaipur)

Andhra Pradesh 230/3 in 50 overs (C H Jhansi Lakshmi 80; Priyanka Ghodke 1/37) beat Maharashtra 185/10 in 48.2 overs (S A Lonkar 60; C H Jhansi Lakshmi 3/34) by 45 runs.

Uttar Pradesh 151/9 in 50 overs (Aditi 29; Tesjaswini Duragad 2/33) lost to Goa 156/7 in 48.4 overs (Shikha Pandey 35; Kajal 3/23) by three wickets.

Rajasthan 240/5 in 50 overs (P B Sharma 108; Kumari Shibi 1/28) beat Chandigarh 197/9 in 50 overs (Amanjot Kaur 89; S L Meena 2/32) by 43 runs.