Alice Capsey and Freya Kemp earn first England ODI call-ups

New Update
Alice Capsey and Freya Kemp earn first England ODI call-ups

Alice Capsey and Freya Kemp have received their first call up to the England team. © Getty Images

Alice Capsey and Freya Kemp have earned their first call-ups to England ODI squad for the series against India, England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) announced the squad on Friday (September 16).

A squad of 15 has been named for the three-match series, which will be England’s first fixtures in the new ICC Women’s Championship cycle, with points leading to qualification for the ICC Women’s World Cup in 2025.

Amy Jones will continue to lead the side in the absence of Heather Knight and Natalie Sciver, with Sophie Ecclestone her vice-captain. Knight is currently under rehabilitation after undergoing surgery for the hip injury she sustained during the South Africa series before The Hundred, while Sciver opted out of the series for personal reasons. Katherine Brunt will also continue to miss the series.

England’s Head Coach Lisa Keightley said: “I was so proud of how the team came together to win the Vitality IT20 series. Sometimes when you’re missing big name players, other players step up and take their chance and I felt we really did that. It’s a young group but they worked tremendously hard and showed their skill and resilience to get over the line."

“Amy did a great job as captain and she was ably supported by Sophie so we want them to carry on what they’ve been doing. It’s another big series, especially with points counting towards ICC Women’s World Cup qualification, and with the summer ending at Lord’s there’s a lot to be excited about.”

Squad: Amy Jones (c), Tammy Beaumont, Lauren Bell, Maia Bouchier, Alice Capsey, Kate Cross, Freya Davies, Alice Davidson-Richards, Charlie Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Freya Kemp, Emma Lamb, Issy Wong, Danielle Wyatt

Both India and England started their ICC Women's Championship for the 2022-25 cycle with clean sweeps against Sri Lanka and South Africa respectively to gain six points each.