Alex Hartley included in Thunder squad for Rachael Heyhoe-Flint trophy

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
Alex Hartley included in Thunder squad for Rachael Heyhoe-Flint trophy

Alex Hartley celebrates a wicket. © Getty Images

Following the conclusion of the North West Cup that saw a host of talent from the regions of Lancashire, Cheshire and Cumbria compete in a series of one-day and T20 matches, Thunder finalised their 15-member squad for the Rachael Heyhoe-Flint trophy on Friday (August 21). The side will represent the North West region in the 50-over tournament scheduled to commence on August 29.

England left-arm spinner and 2017 World Cup winner Alex Hartley is the most experienced member of the side, and is also the only one with international experience. She will be joined by the likes of Georgie Boyce, Natalie Brown, Danielle Collins, Alice Dyson and Ellie Threlkeld, all of whom represented Lancashire Thunder in the now defunct Women's Cricket Super League.

Fresh off victories in the London Cup and the London championship, Surrey skipper Hannah Jones has also been included in the side.

All of Hartley, Boyce and Threlkeld have been awarded retainer contracts by the region. Emma Lamb, who is currently part of England's 24-member training squad, is missing from the squad. Paul Shaw was previously announced as head coach of the side.

ALSO READ: Paul Shaw appointed head coach of North West region

“We are thrilled to announce an exciting group of 15 players who will represent the North West region in the Rachael Heyhoe-Flint Trophy," said David Thorley, regional performance director. “There is a real blend of youth and experience in this side, from Alex Hartley who is a Cricket World Cup winner with England, a core-group with previous KSL experience, to young players who have impressed in their respective age-group systems across Lancashire, Cheshire and Cumbria."

“Despite battles with inclement weather, the standard of cricket throughout the matches played in the North West Cup was of a high standard and we are looking forward to getting started at Trent Bridge a week on Saturday.”

Thunder are grouped alongside Central Sparks, Northern Diamonds and Lightning in the Northern group. They will kick off their campaign against Lightning at Trent Bridge on the opening day of the tournament.

Squad: Georgie Boyce, Natalie Brown, Alice Clarke, Danielle Collins, Rebecca Duckworth, Alice Dyson, Alex Hartley, Liberty Heap, Laura Jackson, Hannah Jones, Laura Marshall, Daisy Mullan, Olivia Thomas , Ellie Threlkeld, Sophia Turner