Akanksha, Aditi steer Mysuru Warriors home in the first match

New Update
Akanksha, Aditi steer Mysuru Warriors home in the first match

Akanksha Kohli on her way to 34*. ©KPL

Mysuru Warriors won by four wickets in the first of the two Women’s Exhibition T20 matches at the SDNR Wadiyar Stadium on Tuesday. While seven runs were needed off the final over, Mysuru’s Akanksha Kohli hit Monica Patel for a huge six off the first delivery and helped her team to win the game.

Electing to bat first, Shivamogga Lions started their innings very slow but eventually recovered. They put up 93 at the end of the 20 overs with the loss of 6 wickets. Prathyusha K was the highest scorer, scored an 18 ball 24 (4x4) before she was caught at point by Anaga M off Divya Gnananad. Shivamogga players couldn't stay long at the crease because of Mysuru's brilliant fielding.

Mysuru's Chandu (1/10) and medium pacer Akanksha's economical spells restricted opponents in a below-par score.

Though it was not a huge total to chase down in this T20 era, the Warriors too got off to a poor start as they lost three wickets within the Powerplay. Simren Henry played a stable knock of 15 (31b 2x4) and kept the hope of Warriors' win.

The Warriors were 31/5 at the end of the 10th over. Then Akanksha Kohli and Aditi Rajesh came to their side's rescue. Kohli (34 not out, 27b, 3x4, 1x6) and Rajesh (21 not out, 24b) anchored the innings till the end. They scored an unbroken match-winning 55 from 33 balls in the seventh-wicket. It was a well-earned victory for the Mysuru Warriors.

Left-arm spinner Sahana Pawar bowled really well with two maiden overs in her 4 overs. Along with her, leggies Rameshwari Gaekwad (2-10) and Pratayusha (1-13) too did well for Shivamogga Lions.


Brief scores:

Mysuru Warriors 94/6 (A Kohli 34*; R Gaekwad 2-10) beat Shivamogga Lions 93/6 (Prathyusha C 24) by 4 wickets.

(With inputs from KPL media team)